Rustic Sausage Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
What a great meal! Wish I had made this one sooner as it sat in my recipe box. Very flavorful and hearty. I used hot Italian sausage and whole grain rotini pasta. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly. My family loved it. I was happy because it was chock full of veggies and the kids just ate it up. Will definately make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This was VERY YUMMY! Even my bf who isn't a big veggie fan loved it! We put it over tortellini instead of the rotini pasta and the cheese filling added a great layer of flavor. I think if I ever make it with regular pasta, I'll put some mozzarella cheese on top along with the parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Excellent recipe. Easy to make, flavorful, and a great aroma that filled the house. I made this with mild italian sausage, added a few red pepper flakes and a can of crushed tomatoes with a little water added. Otherwise followed the recipe. Very colorful presentation too. It's a keeper at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
My husband and I liked this sauce, but I did make some adjustments, instead of crumbling the sausage I cooked it first then cut it into pieces. Also I needed more sauce, so I added a bit from a jar. All in all a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This dish was amazing - and even better the next day! I followed one reviewer's advice and diced the veggies up really small so each bite was full of veggies. It really made it wonderful!! I was planning to use two cans of diced tomatoes (b/c so many people said it needed more sauce) but realized I only had one so I improvised and threw in 3/4 of a can of creamy tomato soup (the kind you microwave and drink) and it came out wonderful!! I froze some for a future dinner and can only imagine how flavorful it will be when I eat it!! I used Jimmy Dean's sage flavored sausage and added some crushed red pepper to give it a kick. Will probably use spicy sausage next time. Thank you Heather for a terrific & easy to make recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This recipe was great. My 17 month old son gobbled it up. He even ate all of the vegetables. Normally I can't get him to eat zuchini, squash or mushrooms. Based on other reviews saying there wasn't enough sauce instead of one cup of tomato sauce I added an entire 28 oz can. I also added more mushroom because I like them and had to use up the ones I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
A great last-minute dinner decision. I used 1/2 pound of bulk fresh pork sausage, one medium shredded zucchini, canned mushrooms, and 1 entire undrained can of fire-roasted garlic diced tomatoes. I did add more of the spices since I wasn't using Italian sausage and a few drops of hot pepper sauce. A different and delicious pasta - good with crusty garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
MMMMMMM!!!!!!! So good. I only made a few changes, based on reviews, and based on what I had on hand. Will DEFINITELY make this again! I used three sweet sausages and two hot sausages, cut off the casings and browned it all together. I had fresh basil, so I chopped it up and used about 1/8cup. I used more garlic than it calls for, but I ALWAYS do - we LOVE garlic! Also, I intended to buy zucchini, but upon closer inspection, it was an italian squash...not the same thing, but it was still tasty. I will buy a zucchini next time though. I chopped all of the veggies up very small, hoping my daughter would eat them (no dice!). My husband commented on how small they were, and that he preferred them that way - I do, too...you get more flavors in one bite if they're smaller. I used a 15oz can of tomato sauce because another reviewer said it needed more sauce. SUPER yummy! Thanks so much!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindsayG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Great as is....doesn't need any alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Excellent. I would have followed it to a T, if I had all the ingredients. But whoa did my version turn out delicious. The only changes I made were these...I simmered is for an hour after added the 28oz (not 14 oz) can of petite diced tomatos, along with 1 T of white sugar. Also, I put small dollops of creamy ricotta cheese on top of each serving, and just sprinkles of parmesan, if wnated. The ricotta was the perfect addition to this very mellow yet rich tomato-ey sauce. Ooooooh, this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Server33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Sausage Pasta

A simple and quick weeknight pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and spinach.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States