Rustic Sausage Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
MMMMMMM!!!!!!! So good. I only made a few changes, based on reviews, and based on what I had on hand. Will DEFINITELY make this again! I used three sweet sausages and two hot sausages, cut off the casings and browned it all together. I had fresh basil, so I chopped it up and used about 1/8cup. I used more garlic than it calls for, but I ALWAYS do - we LOVE garlic! Also, I intended to buy zucchini, but upon closer inspection, it was an italian squash...not the same thing, but it was still tasty. I will buy a zucchini next time though. I chopped all of the veggies up very small, hoping my daughter would eat them (no dice!). My husband commented on how small they were, and that he preferred them that way - I do, too...you get more flavors in one bite if they're smaller. I used a 15oz can of tomato sauce because another reviewer said it needed more sauce. SUPER yummy! Thanks so much!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindsayG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
My husband and I liked this sauce, but I did make some adjustments, instead of crumbling the sausage I cooked it first then cut it into pieces. Also I needed more sauce, so I added a bit from a jar. All in all a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This dish was amazing - and even better the next day! I followed one reviewer's advice and diced the veggies up really small so each bite was full of veggies. It really made it wonderful!! I was planning to use two cans of diced tomatoes (b/c so many people said it needed more sauce) but realized I only had one so I improvised and threw in 3/4 of a can of creamy tomato soup (the kind you microwave and drink) and it came out wonderful!! I froze some for a future dinner and can only imagine how flavorful it will be when I eat it!! I used Jimmy Dean's sage flavored sausage and added some crushed red pepper to give it a kick. Will probably use spicy sausage next time. Thank you Heather for a terrific & easy to make recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Excellent. I would have followed it to a T, if I had all the ingredients. But whoa did my version turn out delicious. The only changes I made were these...I simmered is for an hour after added the 28oz (not 14 oz) can of petite diced tomatos, along with 1 T of white sugar. Also, I put small dollops of creamy ricotta cheese on top of each serving, and just sprinkles of parmesan, if wnated. The ricotta was the perfect addition to this very mellow yet rich tomato-ey sauce. Ooooooh, this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Server33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Very good, very easy weeknight dinner. I just increased some of the spices and left off thyme. Did not think thyme went with pasta sauce. I also used the 28oz canned of diced tomatoes and one small can of tomato paste in place of the tomatoe sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilac0832

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marblehead, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
We absolutely loved this dish. The fresh veggies make this so attractive and delicious. I made exactly as written with a few small exceptions. I added some red pepper flakes, used a 14 oz can of tomato sauce, and only about 8 oz pasta. I really wanted more veggie than pasta, and this worked perfectly. I used tri-color vegetable rotini. What a pretty dish. Delectable! Thanks for this nice submission, Heather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
A great last-minute dinner decision. I used 1/2 pound of bulk fresh pork sausage, one medium shredded zucchini, canned mushrooms, and 1 entire undrained can of fire-roasted garlic diced tomatoes. I did add more of the spices since I wasn't using Italian sausage and a few drops of hot pepper sauce. A different and delicious pasta - good with crusty garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This is a super easy meal if you use already sliced frozen vegetables like I did. I used a bag of peppers and onions, and a bag of zucchini and squash. I had hot Italian sausage, so used that. I only wish I had remembered to salt the water I cooked the pasta in, I think it would have improved the overall taste of this recipe. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Very tasty and even better the next day ! Took the advise from some of the reviewers: Used Italian sweet sausage, cut into chucks not crumbled, added an extra can of tomatoes (stewed), left out the mushrooms because we don't care for them. Topped it with grated Parmesan and grated Mozzarella cheeses when serving. We all loved this ! Thanks for sharing, Heather W.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This is excellent stuff. Very easy, too, and not too time consuming. I used a frozen vegetable blend that had squash, zucchini, and mushrooms but not peppers. That's okay though--we didn't miss the peppers at all. I did add another can of diced tomatoes and I'm glad I did. Next time, however, I'd drain one of the cans of tomatoes--it ended up a bit watery. Still, this has great flavor and is a wonderful one dish meal. I flavored the sausage by using the Italian Style Sausage recipe from AR and then I used cheese tortellini, not rotini pasta. It turned out wonderfully. I got a little carried away with using up items from my freezer and ended up with half the sauce not needed to cover the pasta. However, no big deal. We'll definitely eat more of this this week! I'm not a leftover fan, but I'd eat this again right away. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Sausage Pasta

A simple and quick weeknight pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and spinach.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States