Rustic Sausage Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Excellent. I would have followed it to a T, if I had all the ingredients. But whoa did my version turn out delicious. The only changes I made were these...I simmered is for an hour after added the 28oz (not 14 oz) can of petite diced tomatos, along with 1 T of white sugar. Also, I put small dollops of creamy ricotta cheese on top of each serving, and just sprinkles of parmesan, if wnated. The ricotta was the perfect addition to this very mellow yet rich tomato-ey sauce. Ooooooh, this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Server33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Great as is....doesn't need any alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Very good, very easy weeknight dinner. I just increased some of the spices and left off thyme. Did not think thyme went with pasta sauce. I also used the 28oz canned of diced tomatoes and one small can of tomato paste in place of the tomatoe sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilac0832

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marblehead, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
MMMMMMM!!!!!!! So good. I only made a few changes, based on reviews, and based on what I had on hand. Will DEFINITELY make this again! I used three sweet sausages and two hot sausages, cut off the casings and browned it all together. I had fresh basil, so I chopped it up and used about 1/8cup. I used more garlic than it calls for, but I ALWAYS do - we LOVE garlic! Also, I intended to buy zucchini, but upon closer inspection, it was an italian squash...not the same thing, but it was still tasty. I will buy a zucchini next time though. I chopped all of the veggies up very small, hoping my daughter would eat them (no dice!). My husband commented on how small they were, and that he preferred them that way - I do, too...you get more flavors in one bite if they're smaller. I used a 15oz can of tomato sauce because another reviewer said it needed more sauce. SUPER yummy! Thanks so much!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindsayG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
A great last-minute dinner decision. I used 1/2 pound of bulk fresh pork sausage, one medium shredded zucchini, canned mushrooms, and 1 entire undrained can of fire-roasted garlic diced tomatoes. I did add more of the spices since I wasn't using Italian sausage and a few drops of hot pepper sauce. A different and delicious pasta - good with crusty garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
What a great meal! Wish I had made this one sooner as it sat in my recipe box. Very flavorful and hearty. I used hot Italian sausage and whole grain rotini pasta. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly. My family loved it. I was happy because it was chock full of veggies and the kids just ate it up. Will definately make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This left us wanting more flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLBUMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
my whole family loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This is a super easy meal if you use already sliced frozen vegetables like I did. I used a bag of peppers and onions, and a bag of zucchini and squash. I had hot Italian sausage, so used that. I only wish I had remembered to salt the water I cooked the pasta in, I think it would have improved the overall taste of this recipe. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
We enjoyed this recipe. I made it with all fresh vegetables from the garden. I left out the mushrooms since we don't like those much, and added an entire 15 oz can of tomato sauce, and I still think it could have used maybe another cup of sauce. It was very fresh and healthy-tasting. My kids wouldn't eat the vegetables though, even though I cut them into small pieces. I think this recipe is too chunky for kids. I will make this again, but puree the veggies into the tomato sauce so they won't know they're there! It's great for adults as is, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Sausage Pasta

A simple and quick weeknight pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and spinach.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States