Russian Vegetable Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
My 34 year old copy of "The Vegetarian Epicure," (Anna Thomas, 1972) opens automatically to this page, but it's packed away because I'm in the middle of moving; luckily I found this site--I've just gotten a call to please make what will surely be my 10,000th pie for a family picnic tomorrow. I've made it every which way: spinach or kale instead of cabbage, a variety of substitute herbs (the curry version was partuclarly good!), a so-so vegan version (tofu cream cheese texture wasn't right), and it's still among my favorite meals of all time. My folks gave me the book on my 14th birthday in 1974; I had just become a vegetarian -- more because I didn't like the taste or texture of meat/fish/fowl than for any health or political reasons -- and although I was already enthusiastic cook, I was not a very knowledgable cook. Thomas's book (as well as her subsequent volume II) introduced me to enough delicious recipes as a teen to keep even my most meat-focused male friends happy. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
My Russian boyfriend recognized the recipe, but thought that the cream cheese was odd. We tried it both ways, and MAKING IT WITHOUT THE CHEESE IS WAY BETTER. I also increased the spices by half. I really liked the mushrooms and cabbage, but next time I may add carrots as well. This makes enough filling for two pies, so be sure to have four crusts on hand (two for the tops). I use the premade crusts, precrisped at 375 for 15 minutes, and they always turn out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
Wow - I was so glad to find this recipe. I used to make it years ago - from a Moosewood Cookbook. It is definitely comfort food and now I use no fat or low fat cream cheese. I use a prepared crust. I do like putting in any vegie I can find -- but diced or grated carrots are great in it because they add a dash of colour. Thanks for reminding me about how it is actually constructed....yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I changed the recipe around quite a bit so this rating is based on the changes. I used spinach instead of cabbage added the mushrooms, onions, added carrots and beets, a 1/2 lb of ground beef a condenced can of cream of mushroom soup the marjorium, salt, pepper to taste and some Oregano as I was out of Basil. I made the recipe for baking powder biscuits for the crust and it excluded the egg. I also excluded the cream cheese and added 4 ounces of cheddar. It was delicious! It will definately be a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Haussler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I don't usually make recipes like this but this one sounded so good I had to try it. I am so glad I did too! My husband, who doesn't really like cabbage, said he wouldn't mind seeing this again on the table :). The only change I made was using a prepared crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
I was surprised by how tasty this was! I only used 4 oz of mushrooms, because I was saving some aside for another recipe. Next time will use the full 8 oz the recipe calls for. I also used frozen pasty crusts. Very delcious. Must be a Russian comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
I love this tasty, zesty trip to eastern Europe. I prepare it often. I don't have children, though; children usually hate cabbage, so this is not likely to be a big family hit. but good for grownups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This is my favorite recipe of all time! My mom would make this for my birthday when I was a kid. The combination of flavors and textures is just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Had some trouble getting the pastry together and there was barely enough for both crusts. Also, it seems no-one else had this problem, but I had WAY too much cabbage! Even half a head was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Actually, I enjoyed the dish; but, I was the lone holdout in the family. My wife stated that whe thought something was missing. The kids all rejected it and opted for PBJs instead. The family's overall score, therefore, was 2.4 stars. The recipe was straightforward and I ran into no problems fixing it. Start to finish, it took about three hours to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States