Russian Vegetable Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I have been making this for almost 30yrs and I LOVE it! I use Italian Seasoning instead of all the other seasonings as it is just eastier for me. The crust needs to be thin, as it is not real flaky and needs to cook for a while. Cook the cabbage down along with the onion and seasoning and a head of cabbage won't seem like a LOT. Everyone in my family LOVES this, but it is fun to experiment with it also. I was so happy to find this!! I lost my recipe in my last move.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I don't usually make recipes like this but this one sounded so good I had to try it. I am so glad I did too! My husband, who doesn't really like cabbage, said he wouldn't mind seeing this again on the table :). The only change I made was using a prepared crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Had some trouble getting the pastry together and there was barely enough for both crusts. Also, it seems no-one else had this problem, but I had WAY too much cabbage! Even half a head was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
Wow - I was so glad to find this recipe. I used to make it years ago - from a Moosewood Cookbook. It is definitely comfort food and now I use no fat or low fat cream cheese. I use a prepared crust. I do like putting in any vegie I can find -- but diced or grated carrots are great in it because they add a dash of colour. Thanks for reminding me about how it is actually constructed....yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
All was well except for the crust. There was not enough crust to cover my pie, so i had to thin it out. It came out of the oven, a little burnt and bubbled. This may just be me, but next time I'd follow my own recipe for crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
Quite tasty. The mushrooms clashed with the other flavors, in my opinion. I would like to try with roasted nuts, or maybe potatos replacing the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
I was surprised by how tasty this was! I only used 4 oz of mushrooms, because I was saving some aside for another recipe. Next time will use the full 8 oz the recipe calls for. I also used frozen pasty crusts. Very delcious. Must be a Russian comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
I love this tasty, zesty trip to eastern Europe. I prepare it often. I don't have children, though; children usually hate cabbage, so this is not likely to be a big family hit. but good for grownups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States