Russian Vegetable Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This is my favorite recipe of all time! My mom would make this for my birthday when I was a kid. The combination of flavors and textures is just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
I love this tasty, zesty trip to eastern Europe. I prepare it often. I don't have children, though; children usually hate cabbage, so this is not likely to be a big family hit. but good for grownups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
I was surprised by how tasty this was! I only used 4 oz of mushrooms, because I was saving some aside for another recipe. Next time will use the full 8 oz the recipe calls for. I also used frozen pasty crusts. Very delcious. Must be a Russian comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
Wow - I was so glad to find this recipe. I used to make it years ago - from a Moosewood Cookbook. It is definitely comfort food and now I use no fat or low fat cream cheese. I use a prepared crust. I do like putting in any vegie I can find -- but diced or grated carrots are great in it because they add a dash of colour. Thanks for reminding me about how it is actually constructed....yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I don't usually make recipes like this but this one sounded so good I had to try it. I am so glad I did too! My husband, who doesn't really like cabbage, said he wouldn't mind seeing this again on the table :). The only change I made was using a prepared crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I have been making this for almost 30yrs and I LOVE it! I use Italian Seasoning instead of all the other seasonings as it is just eastier for me. The crust needs to be thin, as it is not real flaky and needs to cook for a while. Cook the cabbage down along with the onion and seasoning and a head of cabbage won't seem like a LOT. Everyone in my family LOVES this, but it is fun to experiment with it also. I was so happy to find this!! I lost my recipe in my last move.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
My 34 year old copy of "The Vegetarian Epicure," (Anna Thomas, 1972) opens automatically to this page, but it's packed away because I'm in the middle of moving; luckily I found this site--I've just gotten a call to please make what will surely be my 10,000th pie for a family picnic tomorrow. I've made it every which way: spinach or kale instead of cabbage, a variety of substitute herbs (the curry version was partuclarly good!), a so-so vegan version (tofu cream cheese texture wasn't right), and it's still among my favorite meals of all time. My folks gave me the book on my 14th birthday in 1974; I had just become a vegetarian -- more because I didn't like the taste or texture of meat/fish/fowl than for any health or political reasons -- and although I was already enthusiastic cook, I was not a very knowledgable cook. Thomas's book (as well as her subsequent volume II) introduced me to enough delicious recipes as a teen to keep even my most meat-focused male friends happy. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I changed the recipe around quite a bit so this rating is based on the changes. I used spinach instead of cabbage added the mushrooms, onions, added carrots and beets, a 1/2 lb of ground beef a condenced can of cream of mushroom soup the marjorium, salt, pepper to taste and some Oregano as I was out of Basil. I made the recipe for baking powder biscuits for the crust and it excluded the egg. I also excluded the cream cheese and added 4 ounces of cheddar. It was delicious! It will definately be a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Haussler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This was amazing! I am always searching for something Russian to prepare for a boarder who lives here. This sure brought a smile to her face and we will be having this for dinner again! I am searching still for a recipe for "kutya" and whatever holiday foods I can find for her. yum....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Proctorsville, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I have been making this recipe from my original Anna Thomas cookbook since 1973. (That particular page fell out and then the whole book fell into halves. It makes it easier to copy for friends that way, tho.) I have made it numerous times and even my Russian daughter-in-law says it is quite authentic. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States