Russian Vegetable Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
My father made this a lot when I was in high school because I decided overnight to be a vegetarian and my parents didn't really cook with meat very often. It was a hit no matter how often he made it. It always felt like there was too much cabbage, but he would make it fit and it would cook down - helped that he used a souffle pan instead of a pie pan. This was published in a book called The Vegetarian Epicure and I've had a devil of a time finding a copy - glad to find the recipe here but feel the author should acknowledge the original source.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Baked the first time. It was easy to follow and turned out good. But will spice it up next time according to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I have been making this recipe from my original Anna Thomas cookbook since 1973. (That particular page fell out and then the whole book fell into halves. It makes it easier to copy for friends that way, tho.) I have made it numerous times and even my Russian daughter-in-law says it is quite authentic. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
My son really liked this, but my husband couldn't get past the looks of it. What a role reversal! I thought it was ok (edible, but not great), but high calorie for what it was. Next time, I'll just have mac and cheese with veggies on the side for about the same calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Actually, I enjoyed the dish; but, I was the lone holdout in the family. My wife stated that whe thought something was missing. The kids all rejected it and opted for PBJs instead. The family's overall score, therefore, was 2.4 stars. The recipe was straightforward and I ran into no problems fixing it. Start to finish, it took about three hours to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Used this recipe @ a pie contest and won most unique eat! Added shredded sweet potato to give more color and a tad of sweetness. It was awesome! Would add a small amount of additional sweetness to the recipe: otherwise it was fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This was amazing! I am always searching for something Russian to prepare for a boarder who lives here. This sure brought a smile to her face and we will be having this for dinner again! I am searching still for a recipe for "kutya" and whatever holiday foods I can find for her. yum....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Proctorsville, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I changed the recipe around quite a bit so this rating is based on the changes. I used spinach instead of cabbage added the mushrooms, onions, added carrots and beets, a 1/2 lb of ground beef a condenced can of cream of mushroom soup the marjorium, salt, pepper to taste and some Oregano as I was out of Basil. I made the recipe for baking powder biscuits for the crust and it excluded the egg. I also excluded the cream cheese and added 4 ounces of cheddar. It was delicious! It will definately be a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Haussler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
My Russian boyfriend recognized the recipe, but thought that the cream cheese was odd. We tried it both ways, and MAKING IT WITHOUT THE CHEESE IS WAY BETTER. I also increased the spices by half. I really liked the mushrooms and cabbage, but next time I may add carrots as well. This makes enough filling for two pies, so be sure to have four crusts on hand (two for the tops). I use the premade crusts, precrisped at 375 for 15 minutes, and they always turn out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This is my favorite recipe of all time! My mom would make this for my birthday when I was a kid. The combination of flavors and textures is just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States