Russian Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
The recipe mistakenly listed "1 (3 ounce) package unsweetened lemonade powder". It has now been corrected to read "1 (3 ounce) package powdered lemonade mix". This is a sweetened mix containing sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This is the age old recipe I grew up with. It is a staple at our house, especially around cold and flu season as the cloves in the mixture, soothe sore throats. Instead of the 3 oz. package of lemondade, we just use the smaller .23 ounce sugarless lemonde mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
A couple of days ago I started craving this tea--my mom made it when I was a kid. It turned out great--I used decaf unsweetened tea mix, tang, and countrytime lemonade which is sweetened so I reduced the sugar to 1 cup. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rex, Georgia, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Growing up we always had this stuff in the house. I hadn't had it in years and decided to make a little gifts for my co-workers. It was delicious but a little too sweet for me. I made it in 2 batches, the second batch I added half the sugar it called for and it was great. (I do not like sweet tea.) My 11 year old son is hooked on this stuff now. FYI: it is the little packets of unsweetened lemonade that should be used in the recipe, about .25 oz. each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I've wanted to make this recipe for years (since I saw a similar recipe on the back of the Tang container) and finally did! I used the 1 tiny little Kool-Aid unsweetened pack like the others and subbed allspice for cloves because that's what I have. I was surprised by how much I enjoy this drink, it tastes like those apple cider mix packets you can buy only cheaper and better. I now have a big empty peanut butter jar full of this tea mix and will look forward to drinking it every day. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
Perfect - exactly as my mother used to make me as a child! Sometimes we add red hots to give it that little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
2 cups of sugar when the tea, lemonade and tang are sweetened? YIKES!!! I didn't use the sugar and added a about 1/2 tsp of ground ginger. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I changed the recipe to my taste. 1 1/2 c of tea, 2 c Tang, 2 pkg Koolaid Lemonade (non-sweeten), 1 c sugar, 2 t cinnamon, 1/2 tsp allspice and it made my taste buds happy. It taste more like the Russian Tea that I drank at the Texas RenFest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I have loved this tea since I was a child, sipping on it in the cold Wyoming winters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~chele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This hot beverage tastes like Christmas to me. I have not had it for years. My husband and I "stole" away for lunch at a sweet little local tea house this week. As I was looking at the tea menu, I saw "Russian Tea". I wondered if it was this recipe and it was! My husband and I sipped tea and enjoyed our lunch date. It was the very first of December and the Christmas music was playing . Oh, the taste of the tea and the music really put me in the Christmas spirit- praise God for His indescribable gift of Jesus! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States