Russian Tea Cakes III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Erica Lopez Rodriguez
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I have tried a few different recipes and this one is the best! My husband runs a retail store and I make these cookies every year the weekend before Christmas for their Christmas pot luck. Well this year since Thanksgiving I have made this recipe doubled at least 3 times! When I went into his store yesterday one of his employees told me that they have bought these cookies, have made them and have had them from other people and mine, well your recipe was the best she's ever had. It made my day. I made her a treat bag along with a Christmas card and the recipe! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Very easy to make and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
When I was 6 or 7, a LONG time ago, my mother ordered Child Life for me and this recipe was in one issue. The only difference is that it caled for chopped pecans instead of walnuts. I like the flavor of the pecans, but merely a personal preference. I have found so many recipes of this type use too much flour. This makes the tender cookies that aren't doughy. So good with a cup of coffee. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Perfection - I have been baking this very same recipe for over 40 years. For those that need specific directions: mix the softened margarine, sifted confection sugar and vanilla together set aside and mix the flour and salt together, then combine the flour mix with the margarine mixture and stir in the nuts. Continue with step #2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesterton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
These tasted raw in the middle although I cooked them for 15 minutes. I will not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
A classic Christmas cookie that so many have made for years, following the traditions of their mothers or grandmothers. I'm certain these evoke memories for a lot of us, including myself. One of those Christmas cookies that has earned its place on our cookie platters and that has stood the test of time because they are not too sweet, tender, cover your lips and mouth with the fluff of powdered sugar and are melt-in-your mouth, lick your fingers delicious. I suspect our own daughters and grandaughters will be continuing this wonderful tradition. I like to use a full tablespoon of vanilla as well as a teaspoon of almond extract. (These have been my son's favorite ever since he was a little boy, that little boy instructing me NOT to share any of these with anybody, including his grandmother :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I adore Russian tea cakes, they are my favorite cookie! These were good; although, the flour to nut ratio was a little high and you could definitely taste it. Would have been better with more nuts and less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isabela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Avon Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I have never made these before, but wish I had read the reviews. I will see how they turn out. I thought it was odd to put everything in the mix at once an really thought so when flour even with the guard on came flying out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Very good flavor! My only complaint is that the cookie is a little dry. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States