Russian Tea Cakes III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
These are wonderful! I had a recipe a while ago from some Polish friends and lost it! This is the much the same as I can recall. However I didn't use the walnuts( they aren't my first choice) I used toasted pecans! Yummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!!! So good. This is a very easy recipe! I know people said that some of the steps are left out but it's pretty easy none the less. Also I rolled in 10x as soon as they came out of the oven! Then I let them cool and rolled them again. Thank you very much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOLDENPHOENIX82

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Naples, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These cookies are delicious. However, they flattened out a little while cooking. I think my mistake might have been using margarine instead of the butter that was called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I followed the recipe to the letter, but for some reason had to keep the cookies for an hour in the oven instead of 15 minutes, and they still were undone. My husband did not like them at all. I live in Russia & it is easier to buy those than make my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
These are my favorite cookies! The recipe was simple and the cookies taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This is the same recipe my Grandmother showed me. Extra bonus, for the second coating you can roll the cookies in colored sugar for a festive look and they still taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I just made these and they turned out beautiful! Nice buttery flavor, and not too sweet. I chopped the nuts fine and found that the dough was easily shaped into balls. I also found that I did not have to refridgerate the dough. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This is one of my favorite Christmas cookies. I have used this recipe for several years and find that these come out wonderfully when following the recipe exactly. Very buttery and delicious. I place the cooking rack a bit higher in the oven to avoid overcooking the bottoms of the cookies though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I've made these every year for Christmas ever since I was a teenager. They are so delicious and look beautiful on a cookie tray. My suggestions are that you will need more powdered sugar than stated. Put a few of the hot cookies at a time into a paper bag with the sugar in, shake gently to coat, remove and set aside on a rack to cool. The first coating with sugar will get soft from the heat, then when they are completely cooled, coat again and the sugar will adhere to the first coating making the outside nice and white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This is the same recipe my great grandma used. The only thing different that my mom found easier to do is cool the cookies completely and then shake them in the powdered sugar. Works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
These cookies are so simple to make - I did not even chill the dough before I rolled them into balls to be cooked. They just melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States