Russian Tea Cakes III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
They didn't turn out for me :( Not sure why. I followed the recipe exactly, and at the end of mixing up the ingredients, the 'dough' was nothing but crumbles. I used softened butter, maybe that was it? I tried chilling overnight, to see if the butter would harden and it would stick together, but today it is still nothing but crumbles and won't form a ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I used pecans . The best !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I love these cookies! I use toasted coconut instead of nuts and they turned out great! Also make sure you mix the butter and sugar together first before adding the rest of the ingredients. There also is no need to refridgerate before rolling into balls and cooking. An easier way to make into balls is to use a very small icecream scoop, its a time saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
VERY easy to make! Fast and fun and more importantly very tasty! Not to sweet but just right! The addition of the walnuts is great, only next time I think I might experiment a little and also add in about 1/4 cup of shredded coconut! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This is as close as I can come to my grandmothers recipe for what we call holiday cresents. You guessed it we shaped them into cresents (two bite size). I make one swape for the vegan in the family and use Earth Balance vegan safe spread. Works wonderfuly and no one is left out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Amazingly similar to my Oma's Vanille Kipferls with the exception of the confectioners sugar instead of granulated. If making these ahead of time, you may have to give them another roll in the powdered sugar to brighten them up as it has a tendency to yellow as the cookies sit. A quick and easy recipe that results in a delightful and delicious, tender cookie your family and friends will love. Thank you Emma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Emma, thank you for the recipe! Made these last night, and they turned out great. I was worried when the dough kept falling apart; but alas after chilling it was very easy to mold into the perfect sized balls. Thanks to all the reviews, we sugared them a second time after cooled off. I expect these will be well received at our cookie exchange later today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DECAFinNW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
These are tender and delicious ! I used pecans instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I have this recipe from my grandmother she has been making them for over 50 years. Then it was passed on to my mother as well. You MUST use real butter to make these. They are a tradition in our family. There is also a recipes for Butterfingers that are made the same way but you use Pecans instead of Walnuts and reg sugar for the Powered sugar and form dough into finger sized forms and roll once in gran sugar straight from the oven. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
THANK YOU for posting this. I can remember making these with my mom when I was a kid. I have searched for her recipe to no avail. Seeing the ingredients I knew this was it. My job was to put the nuts in a nut grinder. Also I can still hear her say "don't play with the dough!". It makes them tough. She also used to form crescent shapes. I also got to toss them while they were barely still warm in the sugar and then again when cooled. They are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Matcha Green Tea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soft and chewy pale green sugar cookies with white chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States