Russian Tea Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Pretty good. My variation is 1) Unsalted butter. 2) Preheat to 400 degrees and 8-10 minutes baking time until set, not brown, and 3) after the mixing, chill dough for 1 hour. The results are much more consistent. Roll once in powdered sugar while warm, and once more when cooled. I put several cookies in a pie tin and agitate the tin to roll them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
my whole family just loves these cookies! they are so delicate. its hard to keep them on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turlock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I would say "THE" perfect cookie, i personally enjoy playing with the flavoring. Rum flavoring is amazing as is almond, and lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delano, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Made with almonds. Recipe made 20. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Loved this! I also added almonds instead of walnuts with a teaspoon of almond extract to make it a bit sweeter. Its perfect both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I just made this according to the recipe. I knocked on a neighbor's to offer some. Before I could say anything, he asked where I got them. Turns out he had lived two years in Russia. He ate 3 right then and there. He told me they are exactly like what he had in Russia, except he said they use less sugar. He was still grinning when I left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Awesome cookies! Very easy to make and just delicious. I used real butter and exact measurements and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Cibolo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
First time I have ever made these and this recipe came out great. They were just the perfect texture that I remember when my grandmother used to make these. I do not at all understand those whose came out crumbly or flat. I did this recipe 100% by the ingredients and instructions and they came out perfect. Once my dough is mixed I do mold it and pat it into a nice ball first to eliminate working with the crumbly dough. Then I just rip off an amount that is right and roll in my hands. The reviewer who stated butter has to be super soft, is also spot on. The butter has to be very very soft but not melted for the dough to have a less crumbly texture. All I can say is give this a try, these were great! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
The best cookie!!!!! Very easy to make,... Grew up on these cookies.. my Irish mom made every Christmas, but never put nuts in them. The first time I made them my father in law stopped by and ate every single cookie, that's how good they are..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
just got done making these. They are so good!!!! I followed another reviewers advise and added 1 tbsp of milk..I also ground the walnuts. I rolled twice in confectioners sugar, these will be on my cookie tray every year.. Love them. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 851) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States