Russian Tea Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I can easily see these cookies becoming a Christmas tradition in my family. Really excellent. Like other reviewers have suggested, I added two tablespoons of milk (my dough refused to come together, though I'm sure if my butter were a bit warmer it would have been okay.) Also, I ground the walnuts finely in a food processor, and shook the cookies/powdered sugar in a plastic bag while still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
These were really easy to make. They tasted great but are too crumbly. After I baked them when you try and eat them or roll them in the sugar they just fall apart. I did what some reviewers suggested and made sure to crush the nuts very fine. the cookies still did not stay together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
These were amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
These are the choice of the parties, best double the recipe, they go fast. I have made these balls for 30 years now. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Made exactly as written, they were everyone's favorite cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I have been making Russian tea cakes since I first had to do a report of Russia in middle school. The recipe I used then was from some big-name chef and didn't turn out well. After much tweaking, this is pretty much the exact recipe I ended up with. Nearly 10 year later and now a culinary student, I have brought this recipe to my school's kitchen with outstanding results! I sometimes will add a pinch of salt if you're not using salted butter to give it just a slight bite before you get to the sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri_Whitepaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
On its own, these cookies were a hit, do half nuts and half mini semi-sweet chocolate chips, and they become a legend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiger cub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
The Russian Tea Cakes were not at all what I expected them to be. The video is what caught my eye and because I was trying to find a simple xmas cookie recipe for my church "AROUND THE WORLD CRHRISTMAS DINNER". We have this every year. Each member is to prepare a dish or dessert that is representing another Country and set up a table with information about the dish or dessert. Didn't think it was going to take the time it did and wasnt as easy as the video. Dissapointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roberta walker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I used pecans for the walnuts as I am not a fan of walnuts, used my #50 scoop which yielded 35 cookies that baked in 12 minutes rotating trays halfway through. I like to toss a few times in the icing sugar and leave a corner of the lid up so they don't get moist. I also chilled my dough for a few hours so it wouldn't spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I made this recipe as listed, the only change I made was I used pecans. My dough turned out very wet not sure why. The cookies crumble if you apply any pressure. Don't think I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 861) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Matcha Green Tea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soft and chewy pale green sugar cookies with white chocolate chips.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States