Russian Tea Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This recipe needs a bit of salt, and maybe a little more sugar. Very easy to make. Does not yield a large amount; recommend doubling the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
My new Christmas cookie! Yummy and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie3000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I don't know how I'm gonna keep myself from eating all of these before Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHTHONIC1239

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamosa, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I made a batch of these for my husband's office party, everyone wants the recipe now. One gentlemen was so happy that I made these because they reminded him of his childhood and no one makes them anymore and now he can, thank you sooo much for the Delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dolce Cuoco

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marcia
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I wasn't a big fan. I did make some changes based on some of the other reviews that spoke of the cakes being crumbly. I added a bit of cream cheese. I had to cook them longer than the the 12 minutes but everyone else loved them. I'm going to make them again minus the cream cheese to see how they will turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Melt in your mouth goodness. Made exactly as described.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Love these cookies! I've made these for years, but I softened the butter more this year (I was baking bread, so the butter was almost to the point of melting in my very warm kitchen). Very soft butter is the key--so much better this year! I've tried them with walnuts and pecans, both work well, but I prefer pecans. I chop the nuts in my mini-chopper as I prefer them smaller. If you don't like nuts, mini chocolate chips are great. Don't over-bake these cookies, they will be slightly brown on the bottom. Carefully roll them in powdered sugar as soon as you take them out of the oven. For extra special cookies, roll them a second time once they've cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I couldn't find my recipe for tea cakes this year so I had to try something new. I made this exactly as written. It calls for a lot less sugar than my old recipe which is great. I always use unsalted butter so I was skeptical about there being no salt in the recipe. This was great! I didn't miss the sugar or salt at all. It had just the right amount of flaky/richness that I love about Russian Tea Cakes. I will make these again and again and won't make any changes. Thanks so much for my new go-to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Perfect tea cake recipe! Only change I made was to use pecans instead of walnuts. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
these cookies are just right, not to sweet but sweet enough and not hard to make. I did take others advice and made sure my butter was room temp and I grounded the walnuts into very small pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 838) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States