Russian Tea Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
These were ok, but not as good as others I've had. Mine seemed extra crumbly and I had a tough time rolling them in the powdered sugar...even after letting them cool a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
These remind me of nameless Dutch pastires that my aunt used to make for me when I was a kid. They're so delicious! I found that I didn't need to roll them twice in the sugar. (I prefer them without the sugar on the outside, but company prefers otherwise!) I did a half batch with pecans and half batch with walnuts, absilutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I make these EVERY Christmas for several years now and they are wonderful. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I made them exactly as directed and they were fantastic! Before making them I read up on the proper way to cream butter as I've found not enough mixing or too much mixing really makes a difference. Thanks for a great recipe that I will definitely be adding to my Annual Christmas Cookie baking list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
These were one of the best russian tea cake recipes I've tried. In the past the recipes I've tried have tended to be dry but this recipe was nice and moist...almost melts in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This recipe is just like my Granma Mary used to make. I made several batches this year and prefer the larger chunks of pecans. I also made a couple of batches using the toffee dust after my boyfriend chopped up his his homemade toffee. But the pecans are the best IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Oh my, these are so good! I made one batch to share with those I work with and quickly regretted not doubling it to have more to "sample." : ) I also recommend rolling them in powdered sugar while they are very warm, and again a few minutes later. I received rave reviews at work, perfect recipe, thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Have eaten these before and wanted to make them. Read the reviews--and it seemed to be a hit. First time to make them. Nice easy recipe. It lives up the reviews. These were better than I had eaten before! Will make again! I think we have a new tradition in our family! To make these cookies! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
So glad I found this recipe! It makes me think of my mom when I make them. :) I use a mix of English & black walnuts (mom just used black) and roll them in confectioners sugar twice; once while still warm and one more time once they've cooled. I also chop the nuts very small in my Ninja; almost a meal with just a few larger pieces , so the dough is more crumbly but holds together when you roll into a ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Just like I remember!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanna the Squirrel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 839) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States