Russian Tea Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Made these for the first time tonight. They are light and delicious, and make a perfect holiday cookie. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Easy, tasty and made them as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This is a wonderful base recipe. My cousin has a similar one and she calls them butter balls lol! We agreed that the recipe is very versatile and can be modified by changing the nuts and extracts, and even the coating. My favorite so far is almonds with almond extract. She's done a pecan with vanilla extract and coated them in salted caramel cocoa instead of powdered sugar. I can't wait to continue experimenting with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I just won an office cookie bake-off with this recipe. I followed it as written, but caution that these cookies burn FAST, so you really have to keep an eye on them. 11 minutes was the sweet spot for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
These are the best Russian Teacakes I have ever made. I have been making this recipe for many years. My secrets for this recipe are as follows: Chop nuts to almost flour consistency, measure after chopping. Roll to 1 or 1.5 inch balls. Bake only until they get small cracks, don't let them turn brown. Let sit on baking sheet 10-15 minutes (if you try to remove them from the baking sheets too soon they will disintegrate), then place 6-8 at a time in a gallon ziplock with a couple cups of powdered sugar while they are still warm, but not hot. Seal and roll gently till cookies are totally covered. Remove with spider and place on cooling racks or tinfoil until totally cool. By rolling them when still warm, they will not need re-sugared later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Tried and loved...family can't get enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
They are the best ever. Everyone should try them. then they can become famous!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Very good! I've always wanted to make these cookies and this is my first try and they came out great! The cooking time is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by waldron9977

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
If you like these you will love these cookies; very easy to make. I doubled my batch to have more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Very nice. One of the best Russian tea cookies I have eaten. I did take the advice of the reviewer who suggested that the butter be warmer than room temp. I softened my room temp bars in the microwave for 20 sec at 50%. Did just fine. I also used disposable food prep gloves to kneed the dough before making the balls. Worked great. Next time I might use a pinch less flour to see if it makes a difference, as it was a bit dry in the middle bite. However, overall, I am delighted to have made these myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 838) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States