Russian Tea Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
First time I have ever made these and this recipe came out great. They were just the perfect texture that I remember when my grandmother used to make these. I do not at all understand those whose came out crumbly or flat. I did this recipe 100% by the ingredients and instructions and they came out perfect. Once my dough is mixed I do mold it and pat it into a nice ball first to eliminate working with the crumbly dough. Then I just rip off an amount that is right and roll in my hands. The reviewer who stated butter has to be super soft, is also spot on. The butter has to be very very soft but not melted for the dough to have a less crumbly texture. All I can say is give this a try, these were great! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
The best cookie!!!!! Very easy to make,... Grew up on these cookies.. my Irish mom made every Christmas, but never put nuts in them. The first time I made them my father in law stopped by and ate every single cookie, that's how good they are..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
just got done making these. They are so good!!!! I followed another reviewers advise and added 1 tbsp of milk..I also ground the walnuts. I rolled twice in confectioners sugar, these will be on my cookie tray every year.. Love them. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Simple, classic cookie. Since I live at altitude (4500 ft.) I add 1/2-1 T cream to hold the dough together. Easy to make and everybody has a story to tell about their family's version. Great cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpine, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
My Grandmother used to make these as gifts ... She would NEVER part with the recipe. Especially to me her oldest grandSON. Since her death other family members have tried, but they were never quite right. After finding THIS recipe I have it licked! This Christmas there will be the Family's MUCH missed Cookies for all ... I have just finished 900 of them and want to thank the poster. Happy Holiday's and THANK YOU for making ours complete again. I did not change the recipe at all! Followed it to a Tea! >Pun Intended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
It was delicious, but I used almonds instead of walnuts one time, and no nuts another time, and everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
These are always my Christmas favorites, but I always use ground pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
These are yummy and easy to make. I use whatever nuts I have and chop them up in the blender to a fairly fine texture. I use my hands to mix the dough and then its not crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Its really funny, I was looking for an easy, but different cookie to make a few days ago. I saw this one, believe it or not, it is now my family's favorite cookie. Just an hour after I baked the Russian Tea Cakes, all but one was eaten. And that last one was hidden by me so I could at least have one Tea Cake with my afternoon chai.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Dough was too crumbly and I felt as though I wasted my time. I could not roll the dough into balls. they look delicious in the picture but just did not work for me-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 836) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Funnel Cakes IV

See how to make the ultimate fair food at home!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States