Russian Tea Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I loved how easy these were to make! My adjustments: 1). I used Vanilla-Butter-Nut instead of just Vanilla extract. 2). I made smaller than 1 inch balls- I like to have these as a one-bite cookie. :) 3). I rolled them in powdered sugar immediately after coming out of the over, and then again after they'd cooled. They're PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Easy recipe. Worked very well, it took a little bit a hard mixing by hand to bring the dough together at first but turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Basic recipe...you can jazz them up in many ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just for you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I followed this receipe exactly. They didn't stay in balls they flatened out and are so tender you can pick them up without them falling apart. I used real salted butter in mixed everything in a stand up mixer. Then used a scoop to put the dough on the cookie sheets. They Taste good but didn't just hold there shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
These are such pretty cookies with a fantastic flavor. I followed the recipe exactly, the only thing i'd recommend is making sure to chop/grind the walnuts very fine; i got it to crumb-like consistency and that worked well for me. I didn't feel that it needed a second coating of the confectioner's sugar but I do recommend coating them while they are still warm (not hot) enough that you can hold them. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Absolutely perfect! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
so good they shouldn't be legal and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I love these Russian tea cakes. They have always been a favorite in my family, and I had baked them with Grandma for years! I have only one tip - when they are not completely cooled, as in they are still warm, but not so hot that you hurt yourself, I roll my cakes in the confectioner's sugar because it slightly melts and creates this lovely texture and coating for the cookie. Then I re-dust once cooled and it creates the absolute perfect dusting. (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I made these for the first time tonight and they turned out great. I didn't read closely and sugared the first batch before i baked them instead of after but they were still ok. i took other reviewer's advice: added a little milk and it made the dough the perfect consistency, ground the walnuts a little finer in the food processor, and rolled them in regular sugar then twice in powdered sugar. these were quick and easy to make although i did end up with an inch of powdered sugar all over my kitchen...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I have been making this recipe for years now. I lost my printout of this recipe and glad to see it's still online and as a matter of fact it was the first recipe that came up in allrecipes.com. Everyone loves these little cakes and I always have requests to make them for the holidays. Sometime I use pecans or almonds in place of walnuts but everything else I do is the same as your recipe. I truly cream the butter and vanilla in the proper way (the technical way) and I think that makes the difference. Thank you so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 838) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States