Russian Tea Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I just won an office cookie bake-off with this recipe. I followed it as written, but caution that these cookies burn FAST, so you really have to keep an eye on them. 11 minutes was the sweet spot for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
These are the best Russian Teacakes I have ever made. I have been making this recipe for many years. My secrets for this recipe are as follows: Chop nuts to almost flour consistency, measure after chopping. Roll to 1 or 1.5 inch balls. Bake only until they get small cracks, don't let them turn brown. Let sit on baking sheet 10-15 minutes (if you try to remove them from the baking sheets too soon they will disintegrate), then place 6-8 at a time in a gallon ziplock with a couple cups of powdered sugar while they are still warm, but not hot. Seal and roll gently till cookies are totally covered. Remove with spider and place on cooling racks or tinfoil until totally cool. By rolling them when still warm, they will not need re-sugared later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Tried and loved...family can't get enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Ann Bailey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
They are the best ever. Everyone should try them. then they can become famous!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Very good! I've always wanted to make these cookies and this is my first try and they came out great! The cooking time is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by waldron9977

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
If you like these you will love these cookies; very easy to make. I doubled my batch to have more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Very nice. One of the best Russian tea cookies I have eaten. I did take the advice of the reviewer who suggested that the butter be warmer than room temp. I softened my room temp bars in the microwave for 20 sec at 50%. Did just fine. I also used disposable food prep gloves to kneed the dough before making the balls. Worked great. Next time I might use a pinch less flour to see if it makes a difference, as it was a bit dry in the middle bite. However, overall, I am delighted to have made these myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
My Bulgarian husband made these today. They are delicious - buttery, crumbly, and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I don't know what went wrong, but this did not turn out. The cookies were grainy like sand. After reading the reviews I thought they were going to be delicious, but I was sadly surprised. I'm not sure if I just did something wrong or what, but I won't even be attempting this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This is my favorite Christmas cookie of all time. The only changes I made were to use toasted Almonds instead of walnuts because I live overseas and can't get walnuts. Then I used almond extract instead of vanilla. I think these changes give a great recipe just a little something extra special and it always gets raves and requests for the recipe. "There's just something different" they all say as they reach for another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Amiot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 865) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Matcha Green Tea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soft and chewy pale green sugar cookies with white chocolate chips.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States