Russian Tea Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I don't know what went wrong, but this did not turn out. The cookies were grainy like sand. After reading the reviews I thought they were going to be delicious, but I was sadly surprised. I'm not sure if I just did something wrong or what, but I won't even be attempting this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This is my favorite Christmas cookie of all time. The only changes I made were to use toasted Almonds instead of walnuts because I live overseas and can't get walnuts. Then I used almond extract instead of vanilla. I think these changes give a great recipe just a little something extra special and it always gets raves and requests for the recipe. "There's just something different" they all say as they reach for another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Amiot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Growing up, my mother use to make this cookie every christmas. In stead of using walnuts or pecans, she always used cashews and everyone loved them. Now that I am in charge of the christmas cookies, I make them the same way. The rich, butteriness of the cashew goes great with the sweetness of the cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bridgeport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Thanks for the recipe. Since I'm not a huge fan of walnuts I substitute with chopped macadamia nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Very yummy. However, I needed to bake mine more than 15 mins and needed lot more powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Gotta admit that I personally was only okay with this recipe, but I will say they were GORGEOUS, and a huge hit with the coworkers. Disappeared very quickly. So I may just be the exception.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This is great. My grandmother hasa recipie for a "nutball" cookie and will never lt me see it. I found your recipie, recreated it, brought tto a holiday dinner. Boy was she mad. She thought I stole her recipie and made it better! Thank you, now she is trying t get my recpie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thesoupergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Every year I add a new cookie to my holiday baking and this will definitely be a keeper going forward. These are light and delicate, a nice alternative to the standard cookie. I used pecans and will try walnuts and/or a combo this year. I did freeze these over a month before Christmas and they tasted just baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
i chose not to put nuts in mine and i loved these cookies. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
It's wonderful to have a recipe passed down over the years. While this a fine cake/cookie... just not what I was looking for. Not quite sweet enough and a little too soft in texture for what I wanted. But thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 857) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States