Russian Tea Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Made a small batch just to try them out and Holy S...! Awesome! I mixed the vanilla extract with coffee extract and HEAVEN! Please try with the mix. So good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Holtsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Wow! this recipe is outstanding! I found that there was too much flour so I added some milk until it went slightly sticky! Thanks for the recipe Hun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Always a hit and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Oh my! They were so yummy, heavenly. .. just like they are supposed to taste! They melt in your mouth! I followed the recipe to the T except that I rolled them in the confectioners sugar twice once when they were warm and after they cooled as other reviewers suggested. They are very balanced in sweetness however if you have a very sweet tooth you might want to add a little bit more sugar but I personally liked the recommend sugar amount. Thank you so much for sharing this devine recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Terrific recipe. These have always been a holiday favorite of mine and this is such an easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Wouldn't change a thing...on purpose, that is. Adding more nuts on accident? Oops!! Still delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni Robinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Just like my mom made! 325 worked well, with air bake cookie sheets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
These little balls of heaven melt in your mouth like buttah. I, like other reviewers think 350° was too hot and made the cookies too tough. I baked mine for 7 minutes at 325° then turned my cookie sheet around and baked for another 7 minutes. They were perfect. I also tried some of the other reviewers tips... 1. I used 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract along with the teaspoon of vanilla. 2. I used about 1 teaspoon of lemon zest. It was good but I thought it changed the flavor of what a Russian Tea Cake is supposed to taste like 3. I used 1 tablespoon of half & half but I think it made my dough too moist and made my cookies spread a bit. Other than the oven temperature, I think if you want to taste a true Russian Tea Cake don't change ANY of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FREEPANTHER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Labno
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
These Russian Tea cakes are delicious!!! I made them for xmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Perfect recipe! I made these for Christmas party and I can't wait to serve them with after dinner tea and coffee on Christmas Eve. This is a very simple recipe- great for rookie bakers like myself. My friend showed me a great tip for shaping the balls. Really squeeze the dough in your hand- this warms the butter and allows you to make a nice shaped ball which holds up to baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 862) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Matcha Green Tea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soft and chewy pale green sugar cookies with white chocolate chips.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States