Russian Tea Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
What a wonderful recipe! Thank you for posting it. I needed a dessert with a Russian theme for an office party. I found this one and gave it a try. My first round produced 20 tea cakes, using a cookie scoop for collecting each piece of dough. The staff loved them! So, today, a snow day off from work, I made another batch - same scoop, but this time the recipe produced 28 balls. I guess I didn't stuff the scoop as much. With both recipes I used King Arthur all-purpose flour. I also added a slight 0.5 tsp of bottled butter flavoring in addition to the 1 tsp. vanilla flavoring. I don't know what the results would be without the butter flavoring, but I was just compelled to add it! The baked cakes were perfectly tender. This recipe is a keeper. Oh, each batch took me less than an hour to make, but I did the cooling outside on the deck in 20 degree temps. Might take longer inside. On a scale of 1 to 10 for ease of preparation, I rate this recipe a 7. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Exactly like they are supposed to be. Made them for husbands customers. They loved them. And yes they are difficult to form into balls. I think this is normal. Like someone else said press hard! also not too sweet but I liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This recipe was pretty good with a few changes. First, I added 2/3 cup of butter instead of 1 cup, in order to cut down on the fat content. I also added about 1/4 tsp salt. Because the dough was too dry upon mixing, I added about 2 teaspoons of milk. The cookies maintained their shape while baking. They were crispy on the outside and slightly tender (but still firm) on the inside. This recipe only yielded 21 tea cakes, instead of 36.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I just made a batch of these and they turned out great! The consistency was perfect, not crumbly at all. They were a little salty, so next time I think I'll add a couple more tablespoons of sugar, but the finished product was great and I'm sure they'll be gone soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Everyone loved these tasty cakes. I made them quite small, so they could just be popped into the mouth. The second time I made them I put the walnuts into a processor until they were finely chopped up. It did make a difference, the dough became more moist, everything stuck together and was easier to roll the dough into balls. They make delicious and attractive gifts too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I used slivered almonds instead. We devoured these. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Exactly what I was looking for! I made my dough and then chilled it overnight. The next day, I let it warm up some, cut it into portioned squares, rolled them into balls, re-chilled them for 15 minutes and then baked them. I rolled them in sugar when warm. I carefully used a fork to avoid breaking them. They took a lot more sugar than stated. Definitely a keeper! Oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Good recipe, and were the favorite at our Christmas party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I make these cookies. They were passed on by my German Grandmother. We use pecans the taste is sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bay Village, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This recipe is spot on the same as my grandmothers cookies and the best you'll find. I do add about a tbsp of water to the mix to help with the dry or crumbly texture people have been talking about. I make them every year for all of our neighbors and every year, they gobble them up and ask for the recipe!!! I've made them with walnuts, pecans, no nuts, colored granulated sugar, etc. and whatever you make them with, this recipe is fail proof and classic!!!! Winning!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sonoma, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 836) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States