Russian Syrniki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I'm sorry but as other reviewers have stated, if you make syrniki dough firm enough to roll it will turn out dry. I tried it so that I could rate the recipe accurately, and that's exactly what happened. I prefer mine to be creamy, and I only add enough semolina to make a dough that can be formed into sticky patties, then fried. Sometimes I add raisins, and I always make my own farmer's cheese if I have the time. We eat this for breakfast (my family is Ukrainian), dusted with powdered sugar or served with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
One simply has to try this.. love at first bite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
To tell the truth, i wouldn't give this recipe any stars at all, sorry. I make this dish all the time, and - really - with this amount of cottage cheese (i use farmer's) i'd put only 1 egg and 1 tbs of semolina. It's not supposed to be rolled and cut! The point of adding egg and semolina is to get the cheese smooth enough so u can make PATTIES. I even omit the flour and semolina if the consistency of farmer's cheese is working for as is. Only cheese, sugar, pinch of salt and eggs. But it depends on your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Petersburg, St. Petersburg (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I liked the recipe except one thing...the amount of flour wasn't right. When I put the amount of flour called in the recipe it didn't look at all like a dough.It was still very liquid.So I had to add much more flour and at the end I didn't even get a dough so that I could roll it but I just made small patties in my hand and dusted them in flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristinka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
My family loved it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I make these all the time ( huby is Ukrainian) and this is actually a breakfast meal. We use farmers cheese to make these or tvorog wich is a russian pot cheese similer to farmers cheese. These should not be dry enough to roll out. If they can roll there is too much flour. Try straining the cottage cheese for a few hours first to get some of the liquid out and then follow the recipe. They should be dropped by large spoonfuls into a good amount for hot oil. Also sugar is to taste but try serving these with jam and sour cream. This is the traditional way of serving them. Some people put golden raisins in them as well. I personally hate raisins. It should be like a very very thick batter that you could shape with wetted hands. I just spoon it in and smooth the top with the back of the spoon. We also use farina cereal in place of the semolina and add some B.P. to make them puff a bit. 1/2 t should do it. Mix it into the flour and cereal before you add it to the cheese, sugar, egg mixture. Good luck and Nazdorovya!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
The flavor is similar to what I remember, but it turned out more dry than the Syrniki I am used too. However, I had to add quite a bit more flour (probably three times what the recipes specifies) to get it to the point where it could be rolled into a log and sectioned into patties for frying. Maybe it would have been better to leave it more like a batter and spoon it into the skillet for frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
A very good recipe! only I always need to add extra flour for some reason. I ignore the step that says to cut the dough into sticks and then make them into patties. I just put the whole mix on the skillet and make it like a pancake. It tastes slightly better if you add a little extra sugar and when it is luke warm. It tastes fairly well too if its fresf off the skittlet, but I advise not to eat it when it's really cold. But I really do like this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orrville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States