Russian Style Creamy Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Wonderful dressing! It's definitely creamy with just the right amount of spice which gives it a little "kick". I cut the recipe in half and lightened it up a little by using Hellman's light mayo and reduced fat sour cream. I also replaced the heavy cream with half and half. This was just what I need for "Reuben Rollups" from this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
very good. i made this to use with the "tasty tender pork tenderloin" recipe from this site. what a wonderful meal. i simply dipped some carrots in the leftover dressing. i have made this a few times now and i follow the recipe exactly. no need to change anything... delicious as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jill

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cumbola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Very nice dressing! Light, well-balanced flavors that enhanced the salad greens rather than overpowered them. And couldn't be simpler or quicker to make. Hubs requested a creamy salad dressing at kind of the last minute so I didn't have time to let it chill long for the flavors to meld, but it didn't really seem to make a difference. I used a little less onion than called for, but as it turned out that probably wasn't necessary. I'm sure I'll make this again - and won't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
Russian dressing was always my favorite as a kid and this brought back a lot of memories being that I haven't had it in forever. I used fat free sour cream but full fat mayo and because I felt it needed a tad of sweetness, I added pickle relish to the mix. So good over plain old iceberg lettuce. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I've don't think I have ever had russian dressing and this was very tasty!! I scaled the recipe back to 4 servings and decided to use dried parsley instead of fresh (as to try and get the kids to eat it). It definitely needs the fresh. It has taste similar to thousand island dressing but this recipe has a milder flavor. Even with scaling the recipe back to 4 servings...it could easily be 5-7 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Good, old fashion Russian dressing. Like others, I added some sweet pickel relish and I used shrimp sauce vs catsup. A real comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
The perfect addition to my reuben sandwich. I added more horseraddish and hot sauce, so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
I am not a huge onion fan so recommend using a sweet onion or leaving it out. I also left out the hot sauce. With those 2 changes, I thought this turned out to be a good recipe. I've made a couple times and hubby and I enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Sorry, but I did not care for this at all. I found the flavour of the mayo a bit overpowering. I thought I would also like the mayo/ketchup flavour, but I didn't care for it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
I'm not a fan of mayo/ketchup but needed it for a chicken recipe, so I tried it. This is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States