Russian Salmon and Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I mixed the sauteed onions, salmon, potatoes and mayo together, then served on lettuce with the sliced eggs. Great flavor! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This recipe has become a favourite in our household. Whenever we go to a bbq I take this dish and its always the first one gone, just like JMRIBKA says. Like another reviewer mentioned, I do more eggs so it completely covers the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I invited a Russian gentleman to dinner, honoring him by cooking a Russian menu. I found 3 recipes on the web. This was exquisite! I chilled it for about 3 hours. It was excellent the next day for breakfast and again for diner. It served 8. The man said it was very authentic. I recommend it HIGHLY. We had it with a Russian Tomato Salad and Roasted Lamb leg with Artichokes. All 3 were a huge hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
I am Russian and indeed this salad is very popular in my country. But there are couple of things we do differently: we grate potatoes and eggs after they are boiled, first goes salmon, then potatoes, whites, then yolks. Mayo between each layer and no mayo on the top! In my family we also add boiled and grated carrots on top of the salmon (by the way, i prefer to canned in oil - it's juicier). Some families also put steamed rice in between. This salad is called "mimoza".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Not as much onion or mayo. (Put garlic powder and salt and pepper in the mayo).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I had left over salmon from last night. So, I had all the ingredients for this simple salad and it was great. The potatoes really balance the strong salmon flavor, which I am not a fan of. I added crushed pepper to the onions for a little kick. Glad I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I made this for my Russian husband and he really liked it. This type of salad can be made in so many different ways by Russians, but this particular recipe is delicious just the way it is. Thanks for sharing your version JMRIBKA, I have made it a few times already. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Absolutely wonderful! I live in Russia and served this for a party. It was the first salad to go! I used tuna instead of salmon. Our mayo comes in squeeze bags so it was easy to apply it in pretty spirals. I followed the advice of another reviewer and made more eggs. 5 was just enough for me to cover the top layer with thin slices. I also added salt & pepper to the potato layer as other reviewers suggested. For presentation purposes, I finely shredded a mild, white cheese and put it around the edge of my round dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This is a very nice flavour combination. Next time, I think I'll try shredding or even mashing the potatoes and mixing that layer with mayo before laying it. I also think I'll crumble up the egg rather than slicing it as was suggested by some other reviews. When I lived in Russia that seemed to be the common thing to do and it holds together better that way when you serve it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi_in_Toronto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
The sauteed onions make this very tasty indeed. A nice, simple, delicious salad. Wonderful luncheon dish. Serve with crusty bread and follow with sliced fresh peaches in champagne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Skin Salmon on Potato Mushroom Salad

Pan-seared salmon with mushrooms, potatoes, and a cherry tomato relish.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States