Russian Salmon and Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2005
This is so good. I actually used 5 eggs, so that eggs would cover the whole layer of potatoes, without potatoes being visible. The only thing I would probably change is adding some salt and pepper over potatoes for a little more to it. thank you JMRIBKA. I'll be looking at your other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
This is very good! My mom is russian and she makes this salad with tuna, plus she adds some grated cheese layer to it, but it's also very good with salmon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
This was delicious. I am always looking for ways to eat more salmon because it is so good for you! I used vaccume packed salmon and seasoned liberally with salt and pepper at each layer. It was simple easy and tasty. Read entire instructions before making. I give it 4 and a 1/2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This recipe has become a favourite in our household. Whenever we go to a bbq I take this dish and its always the first one gone, just like JMRIBKA says. Like another reviewer mentioned, I do more eggs so it completely covers the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I invited a Russian gentleman to dinner, honoring him by cooking a Russian menu. I found 3 recipes on the web. This was exquisite! I chilled it for about 3 hours. It was excellent the next day for breakfast and again for diner. It served 8. The man said it was very authentic. I recommend it HIGHLY. We had it with a Russian Tomato Salad and Roasted Lamb leg with Artichokes. All 3 were a huge hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
I am Russian and indeed this salad is very popular in my country. But there are couple of things we do differently: we grate potatoes and eggs after they are boiled, first goes salmon, then potatoes, whites, then yolks. Mayo between each layer and no mayo on the top! In my family we also add boiled and grated carrots on top of the salmon (by the way, i prefer to canned in oil - it's juicier). Some families also put steamed rice in between. This salad is called "mimoza".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
this turned out very well, very simple to make. i mixed the mayo with the potato before i layered it, and did the same thing with the egg (to save time!) it might not be as authentic, but i felt it helped mix the flavours more. definitely needs salt and pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This was a very good recipe, I made it for a potluck and it was almost gone afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
It had a very good flavor- a little drier than I was expecting, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Not as much onion or mayo. (Put garlic powder and salt and pepper in the mayo).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Skin Salmon on Potato Mushroom Salad

Pan-seared salmon with mushrooms, potatoes, and a cherry tomato relish.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States