Russian Salmon and Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
I added a heaping Tbs oh Dijon mustard to the mayonnaise, and additional thee eggs. I cooked the potatoes and the eggs together in an electric pressure cooker for 4 minutes, putting the eggs in an ice water bath immediately. Diced one egg and distributed in the onion layer. The other extra egg was diced and used as the crown. Every morsel was eaten and pleas to make it again were made. I am sure it will be a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washburn, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight and we both enjoyed it very much. I ran out of mayo and used low fat sour cream to help stretch the mayo that I had. Also added dill to the dressing and garlic powder. It is a nice Lenten meal with a veggie side and a little apple sauce. We are looking forward to the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Love this potato salad version. Canned salmon adds so much to the flavors. Followed the advice in the other reviews and used 5 hardboiled eggs and chopped them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Stearns Sterkowitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palos Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
The sauteed onions make this very tasty indeed. A nice, simple, delicious salad. Wonderful luncheon dish. Serve with crusty bread and follow with sliced fresh peaches in champagne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This is a very nice flavour combination. Next time, I think I'll try shredding or even mashing the potatoes and mixing that layer with mayo before laying it. I also think I'll crumble up the egg rather than slicing it as was suggested by some other reviews. When I lived in Russia that seemed to be the common thing to do and it holds together better that way when you serve it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi_in_Toronto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This was really good, and popular with guests. I will make it again. One problem was the quality of the canned salmon. I didn't expect to have to pick out bones. (Bumblebee pink salmon). I will try to find a higher quality product to use in the future, because I was worried that bones would slip by me and cause problems for my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Absolutely wonderful! I live in Russia and served this for a party. It was the first salad to go! I used tuna instead of salmon. Our mayo comes in squeeze bags so it was easy to apply it in pretty spirals. I followed the advice of another reviewer and made more eggs. 5 was just enough for me to cover the top layer with thin slices. I also added salt & pepper to the potato layer as other reviewers suggested. For presentation purposes, I finely shredded a mild, white cheese and put it around the edge of my round dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I made this for my Russian husband and he really liked it. This type of salad can be made in so many different ways by Russians, but this particular recipe is delicious just the way it is. Thanks for sharing your version JMRIBKA, I have made it a few times already. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I had left over salmon from last night. So, I had all the ingredients for this simple salad and it was great. The potatoes really balance the strong salmon flavor, which I am not a fan of. I added crushed pepper to the onions for a little kick. Glad I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I mixed the sauteed onions, salmon, potatoes and mayo together, then served on lettuce with the sliced eggs. Great flavor! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Skin Salmon on Potato Mushroom Salad

Pan-seared salmon with mushrooms, potatoes, and a cherry tomato relish.

Restaurant-Style Potato Salad

A quick and easy, creamy potato salad.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States