Russian Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I am russian, and I LOVE this salad! My mom actually made this 2 days ago. Instead of the hotdogs either use boiled chicken breasts (my favorite way) or Bologna cut into small pieces. Also add boiled carrots, which you can cook in the same pot as the potatoes. We also add some dill for color and flavor. You can use green onion or regular onion. Cut the potatoes when they are still hot/warm and put the mayo in as you cut them, while they are warm. This makes the salad creamier and better tasting! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Andover, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cliffside Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I am Bulgarian and this Russian salad is a favourite dish for parties and holidays in my coutry. We usually add pickled carrots and if you use ham, it will be even more delicious. Once you try it, you can't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I made this with veggie hot dogs. It was really scrumptious, but to be honest I've never found a potato salad that wasn't...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
Make sure you chop everything finely and in this order: potatoes, hot dogs, pickles, scalions, then add peas, and grated eggs. 1 cup of mayo is for the whole salad so dress your individual servings with as much mayo as you desire. enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
Wow! This recipe is delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and the salad came out WONDERFUL. The ingredients blend together perfectly and I ate almost the whole bowl myself! Thanks for a delicious recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking_chaos

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This recipe is also known as "olivye". Instead of turkey dogs, bologna can be used and I add cooked carrots as well as potatoes. It has more egg flavor than american potato salads, but it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I have made this salad numerous times. Definitely chop everything small and I also add apples. It adds a great flavor and a little crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TR21

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This is the russian version of the true american potato salad. A good tip, and something I always do is don't mix the mayo into the salad until you're ready to serve, this way the juice from the pickles doesn't divert it. I always make a big batch for my family, as this is like a traditional staple. I only mix the mayo in with the amount of salad I'm using at that time. I also like using the canned peas and carrots, cuts time...and apples and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahandtheCity

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I've made this salad so many times I lost count. It's great for parties and to give an alternative to the traditional potato salads around. I've added some finely chopped granny smith apples to the salad and it adds a little bit of acidity and crunch. Always get ravings about the "pea salad" as we call it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DBARNETT31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minsk, Minsk, Belarus
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
i am also russian and this is my all time favorite russian dish :) but we also use ham and carrots. and lots of mayo :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States