Russian Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
Make sure you chop everything finely and in this order: potatoes, hot dogs, pickles, scalions, then add peas, and grated eggs. 1 cup of mayo is for the whole salad so dress your individual servings with as much mayo as you desire. enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
Wow! This recipe is delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and the salad came out WONDERFUL. The ingredients blend together perfectly and I ate almost the whole bowl myself! Thanks for a delicious recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking_chaos

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This recipe is also known as "olivye". Instead of turkey dogs, bologna can be used and I add cooked carrots as well as potatoes. It has more egg flavor than american potato salads, but it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I have made this salad numerous times. Definitely chop everything small and I also add apples. It adds a great flavor and a little crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TR21

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
This was a very unique potato salad and a very nice change from the norm. I'd truly rate it about a 3 1/2. July '07 update: I've made this several more times and we really like it. I would say it is definitely a "4" now. I modified it a bit and we like it better. I don't add the onions (we don't like them.) Also, rather than use all dill pickles, I used about 2 1/2 dill pickles chopped up and the same amount of bread and butter pickles chopped up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I served this for some lunch guests and everyone really liked it. It didn't blow me away but it was very tasty and a nice change from the usual potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I am russian, and I LOVE this salad! My mom actually made this 2 days ago. Instead of the hotdogs either use boiled chicken breasts (my favorite way) or Bologna cut into small pieces. Also add boiled carrots, which you can cook in the same pot as the potatoes. We also add some dill for color and flavor. You can use green onion or regular onion. Cut the potatoes when they are still hot/warm and put the mayo in as you cut them, while they are warm. This makes the salad creamier and better tasting! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Andover, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cliffside Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This is the russian version of the true american potato salad. A good tip, and something I always do is don't mix the mayo into the salad until you're ready to serve, this way the juice from the pickles doesn't divert it. I always make a big batch for my family, as this is like a traditional staple. I only mix the mayo in with the amount of salad I'm using at that time. I also like using the canned peas and carrots, cuts time...and apples and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahandtheCity

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I've made this salad so many times I lost count. It's great for parties and to give an alternative to the traditional potato salads around. I've added some finely chopped granny smith apples to the salad and it adds a little bit of acidity and crunch. Always get ravings about the "pea salad" as we call it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DBARNETT31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minsk, Minsk, Belarus
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
this salad is a nice change from the traditional potato salad. The addition of a crispy apple was a definate plus. Also, using a flavored sausage, such as mild italian with fennel, added a different twist. Definately chop all but the potato into small pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States