Russian Potato Salad from Costa Rica Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
This is a delicious salad when you add one more ingredient--dill pickle relish, with lots of dill pickle juice. Excellent as well when you substitute low fat mayo for real mayo. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I added green onions and it was great! I love how easy it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Really good recipe if you want a change from the usual potato salad, especially if you like beets. I used fresh beets that I diced and and boiled for a while until they were fork soft. Separately boiled the potatoes as well as the eggs. Moth my kids love beets, so they loved this salad! I do not care for beets, so I can't comment...I did add a squeeze of mustard to give it a bit of tang, and it works pretty well! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Any recipe that has beets in it, is good in my opinion. I add 3 cooked chopped hard boiled eggs and a small can of peas and a little mustard and vinegar. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I used the option of adding peas, and cooked fresh beets instead of using the canned variety. This is delicious and easy to assemble. I've already been asked to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This is truly a delicious and unique potato salad. I make as is with the exception of the beets - I buy pickled beets as it definitely kicks up the flavor. You don't need to add too much to this recipe, likely just a bit more mayo than it calls for (my preference). I also chop the eggs as I prefer that texture to diced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
It's a great recipe! nevertheless,I do add some lemon juice ... but this just a matter of taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
A unique potato salad. As one reviewer suggested, I used pickled beets which really had a nice flavor. I think regular beets would be too bland. Tasty, interesting to try, but I prefer a more traditional potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I've lived in Costa Rica for 7 years and this is my favorite salad. We call it Ensalada Rusa. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VER
Home Town: Pass Christian, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I have been making this for years but didn't know it was Russian. I personally like it. I do use pickled beets and or pickled eggs because I like the zing from the vinegar, it gives it more taste. If you like beets you will like it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States