Russian Pancakes - Blini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Much lighter than regular pancakes without all the bread-iness to it ... Definitely going to become a staple in our house with simmered fresh fruit and whip cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
What I got were oily, slimy, gelatinous blobs that tasted like bad omelets with a bit of flour. I had to completely change the recipe to make something resembling the blini I had before. I ended up using approximately 1 egg, 1 tbsp sugar, 2 c flour, 1 1/2 c milk, 1 tbsp butter, 1 tbsp vegetable oil, 1 tbsp baking powder, 1 tbsp baking soda, and I used no butter in the pan while cooking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Some of the other reviews are correct. The amount of milk was way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miasmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I tried this recipe. It was very good. I've been looking for a recipe that comes close to my grandparents recipe that was handed down the generations. But I can't come close to the ingredients that was used. My grandparents were from Belarus. The blini's that I grew up on were made with grated potato's, flour, eggs, and cooked in salt pork fat. More flour for thicker pancakes, salt, pepper for taste. They were extremely delicious. If it was baked in the oven a bit of baking powder was used to rise like a meatloaf. I'm confused to what the real name for this is. Does anyone know what I'm referring to? Please reply if you have any information. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonaRae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Works perfectly. I made mini-blinis to serve with caviar. Each blini came out at about 2" diameter. I used a turkey baster to put the batter into the skillet and it was easy and helped make the blinis round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IAPrincess2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I had Blini for the first time in Irkutsk Russia, from that point on I was hooked. I asked Mama Rita ( lady who ran the B&B) for the recipe,which I lost along my travels. I must say that this is the closest thing to the recipe that she gave me. I used a little less milk and it came out great. Dont worry that it looks too liquidy. It will come together when you our it into the hot pan. When Its done I butter it and fold them in 1/4's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
The batter is extremely thin and burned quickly. Very difficult to flip; I ended up with a messy disaster. My boyfriend is from St. Petersburg, and we have recently returned from a visit to his family in Belarus, where his mother prepared awesome blini. I'll be asking for her recipe. :( I'm very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Wolfville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
These were basically impossible to flip. they stuck to the pan, no matter what oil/butter we used. although, the clumps that turned out were delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
i freaking love blini
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
As written this recipe is a fail. I've been to Russia and eaten a ton of blini's and I've made a fair amount of crepes so I understand cast iron pans and thin batter. This was NOT it. Batter is way too milky. I started as written and made and tasted a couple of times. Then I added double flour and made and tasted. Still not right. I added a bit more sugar. Better and now I'm off to add a pinch of baking soda as others have suggested. But next time I'm looking for a completely different recipe - or just making my awesome french crepes and calling them blinis :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States