Russian Mushroom and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Good dinner on a cold day. Made exactly as written and ate it all week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Before making this, I had no idea what a leek even was. I just happened to get some leeks free and was looking for a recipe to use them. I had all the ingredients for this one and OH MY! This will definitely be something I make over and over again. My whole family loved it and raved over how delicious it was. Thanks DTERESA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This soup is wonderful! I followed all instructions but made a vegetarian version (non chicken broth). It love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I made this recipe as written (except I used a white onion because I didn't have any leeks). Everyone loved it! When I served it I sprinkled a few freshly cooked crisP bacon bits and sliced green onion on top. Amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
So flavourful. I was told it tasted like a professional had made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rayna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Yummy comfort food... Used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This is absolutely delicious and worth the time, ingredients, and extra calories! I add some chopped celery for some extra veggies. We love this soup on cold winter nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
very very good! I also added 3 chicken breasts with the potatoes, chopped into pieces. I added sour cream and milk instead of half and half. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
So delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Absolutely sumptuous! The only changes I made were minor. I had fresh dill, so used it in place of dried, and I puréed the vegetables, so that thickening with flour was unnecessary. At that point, the texture was creamy and rich, making the cream enrichment unnecessary, as well, when calories are a concern. Of course, the half and half made it decadently rich! Another variation is to skip the half and half, and garnish each bowl with a tablespoon of sour cream. Very Russian! At the end of the simmering, the flavor of the dill becomes quite subdued. It blends in and points up the other tastes to perfection. The resulting flavor is deep and earthy. You could easily sub vegetable broth or stock for the chicken broth to make this vegetarian-friendly. Add a salad and a crusty loaf of newly-born bread, and you have a healthy, memorable meal, perfect for a cold, snowy evening, or a Lenten Friday supper. Comfort food at its best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 1-10 (of 669) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States