Russian Green Bean and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This soup was the greatest in taste and the whole family loved it!!! I added more to it though....two cloves of garlic with the onions...and then added frozen corn and portabella mushrooms.....and did do the whole can of kaurt! wonderful flavor and the next day is even better!! Thank you so much for the recipe..will use all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I've been making this recipe for years. I love the unusual combination of flavors. I add a full can of sauerkraut (I never know what to do with what is left over anyway) and to make this a soup for my meat eating husband, I added sliced smoked sausage. It goes really well with rye bread--especially if you make croûtons to put in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This is so unusual and GOOD! I don't rewrite other folk's recipes on here, I follow them as written if I'm going to rate them. I did have to make an adjustment on this by using white instead of wheat flour because I wasn't going to buy a bag of wheat flour for just 2T to use in this recipe. (I don't like the texture of wheat). I can't imagine it making a big enough difference to matter. This is just so different and delicious on this chilly day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Heinos
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Strong flavors...not a soup for every day, but great when you're tired of chili and chicken noodle. I made this with soy sour cream and rice flour for my wheat/dairy free husband and added carrots. Use lots of dill, it goes will with the sauerkraut and leaves pretty green flecks everywhere. Also great with swiss cheese grated on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Heinos
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
THIS IS A VERY GOOD SOUP. I USED CREAM OF CHICKEN SOUP INSTEAD OF SOUR CREAM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I thought this was quite nice, we absolutely loved the sauerkraut in there - not something you often use in soup. It went really well with the green beans, and along with the sour cream and dill it gave the soup a nice fresh taste. My only problem is that with the addition of flour it came out too thick and stewy for us. I reckon the starch in the potatoes would thicken the soup enough. I'll remember that next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Very nice soup, a clove of garlic (minced)is a good addition or alternatively some garlic powder. I made it for the first time today and it turned out a little salty (I didn't add any salt but the juice of the souerkraut was maybe too much...) Will make it again and will watch for the saltiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I made this soup for an older Russian woman that I know and her kids said she loved it! I added mushrooms and about a cup of half & half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I was really looking forward to this soup but sort of dissapointed :( It took alot of work! Cutting the potatoes, onions, green beans, dill, carrots (I added). And all the steps to cook it all...and after all that, the flavor just didn't excite. It looks wonderful and is full of fresh veggies and herbs, so I ate it, but it was the few dashes of hot sauce that made it worth eating. It's a great idea for a soup but just not crazy with the flavor. Either it's missing something or my American taste buds just can't appreciate this foreign recipe. I wish I felt differently. My husband wouldn't eat it, he felt even more strongly against the flavor than I did. At least my mom liked it enough to take it off my hands because it was ALOT of effort and I didn't want it to go to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaffney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I really enjoyed this soup. MY SON enjoyed this soup and he is a very picky eater. I shared this recipe with my neighbor and her family loved it as well. This one is a keeper for sure. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States