Russian Green Bean and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Excellent! I made the recipe as is. I added about a cup of diced cooked ham to it ONLY because I had it left over from the day before. If some of you think it's too sour, add a couple of teaspoons of sugar to it. My hubby adds vinegar to almost every kind of soup I make so this will be one of his favorites! Thanks Idealnut, you made his day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This is an awesome recipe, my wife loved it she's from central europe so it reminded her of Ma...made as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by food critic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Wow! So yummy! My mom used to make a variation of this green bean soup (we have Slovak & Russian heritage). This version is very interesting and absolutely delicious! Modifications - added fresh mushrooms that i sauteed with the onions (because i had them on hand), and basically adjusted the ingredient quantities to fit my giant soup pot. I was very hesitant to add the dill because usually the only place I like it is in pickles :) I decided to add only about a teaspoon, and I'm really glad I did. I know a lot of reviewers liked the dill, but if i would have put the entire tablespoon it would have ruined the dish for me. If you are on the fence about the dill, i'd say skip it. It's really good with just a little or none at all. Next time I don't plan on adding it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRUISEM
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I REALLY wanted to love this soup because I LOVE all of the ingredients. I didn't ~ I can't actually say it is bad because we ate it for dinner but I can't say it was good either. I tried to think of it as if I was at at restaurant ... Would I order it again? Most likely not. Sorry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This was a great soup. Loved the dill flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Perfect - I did leave out the flour and used dried dill. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
OMG! It didn't sound very appetizing to my mom but I really wanted to try it. It was awesome! I made a huge pot and ate all of it in 2 days! Oh, I think it needs carrots and red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
To me, this is a strange combination of food. I loved it. The only thing I changed was: I added 1 carrot & used canned green beans rinsed & chopped up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This is so unusual and GOOD! I don't rewrite other folk's recipes on here, I follow them as written if I'm going to rate them. I did have to make an adjustment on this by using white instead of wheat flour because I wasn't going to buy a bag of wheat flour for just 2T to use in this recipe. (I don't like the texture of wheat). I can't imagine it making a big enough difference to matter. This is just so different and delicious on this chilly day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States