Russian Green Bean and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
My boyfriend and I loved this soup. The only thing I did differently is add some cooked bacon left over from breakfast and a little extra sauerkraut and dill, also lots of ground black pepper. I will be making this one again and again! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This reminds me of soup my grandmother made for my German grandfather who was born in Russia. My husband and I really enjoyed it on this cold rainy night. As other reviewers did, I added the whole can of saurkraut. I used vegetable and chicken broth as I didn't have enough of either one. I plan to add a little smoked sausage when I serve the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
My Slovak-Russian background has a very similar soup, "Omachku" made with Ham, Green Beans, and Potato seasoned with dill & pickle juice.... I'll post the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
LOVE this soup....made it for a church soup/salad luncheon for 100....made a great large batch and everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
very good, used veggie stock
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Fantastic! I made this for my parents and they both went back for seconds! I wasn't sure how the sauerkraut would be since I've never had any before, but it tasted great. It wasn't too strong, but you definitely know it's in there - in a good way. And the fresh dill makes all the difference. I set out to make this recipe as is but ended up experimenting a little for extra fun. Boiled the potatoes in a separate pot for a few minutes while sauteing the onions and green beans with a dash of turmeric and garlic; when potatoes were starting to get tender, I drained them, sprinkled them with thyme and turmeric, and let them sit for a few minutes. Then added the onions, green beans, and some mushrooms to the pot with the potatoes and followed the rest of the directions on the recipe. Served with hot pumpernickel bread. Will definitely make this again. Thanks Idealnut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Excellent! I made the recipe as is. I added about a cup of diced cooked ham to it ONLY because I had it left over from the day before. If some of you think it's too sour, add a couple of teaspoons of sugar to it. My hubby adds vinegar to almost every kind of soup I make so this will be one of his favorites! Thanks Idealnut, you made his day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This is an awesome recipe, my wife loved it she's from central europe so it reminded her of Ma...made as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by food critic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Wow! So yummy! My mom used to make a variation of this green bean soup (we have Slovak & Russian heritage). This version is very interesting and absolutely delicious! Modifications - added fresh mushrooms that i sauteed with the onions (because i had them on hand), and basically adjusted the ingredient quantities to fit my giant soup pot. I was very hesitant to add the dill because usually the only place I like it is in pickles :) I decided to add only about a teaspoon, and I'm really glad I did. I know a lot of reviewers liked the dill, but if i would have put the entire tablespoon it would have ruined the dish for me. If you are on the fence about the dill, i'd say skip it. It's really good with just a little or none at all. Next time I don't plan on adding it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRUISEM
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I REALLY wanted to love this soup because I LOVE all of the ingredients. I didn't ~ I can't actually say it is bad because we ate it for dinner but I can't say it was good either. I tried to think of it as if I was at at restaurant ... Would I order it again? Most likely not. Sorry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States