Russian Green Bean and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I addes carrots, celery, and mushrooms and like one of the other reviews, I used the whole can of kraut. This was a very fresh tasting soup and didn't take long to prepare. The only thing I will do differently next time is not cook the potatoes as long as the recipe calls for because they ended up a little too mushy for me. This is a very unique and great tasting soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This soup is hearty and delish. If you're scared of adding sauerkraut, then just cut up some fresh cabbage and it will be just as delicious. Don't forget the dill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
My boyfriend and I loved this soup. The only thing I did differently is add some cooked bacon left over from breakfast and a little extra sauerkraut and dill, also lots of ground black pepper. I will be making this one again and again! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This reminds me of soup my grandmother made for my German grandfather who was born in Russia. My husband and I really enjoyed it on this cold rainy night. As other reviewers did, I added the whole can of saurkraut. I used vegetable and chicken broth as I didn't have enough of either one. I plan to add a little smoked sausage when I serve the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
My Slovak-Russian background has a very similar soup, "Omachku" made with Ham, Green Beans, and Potato seasoned with dill & pickle juice.... I'll post the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
LOVE this soup....made it for a church soup/salad luncheon for 100....made a great large batch and everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree Beilfuss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
very good, used veggie stock
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Fantastic! I made this for my parents and they both went back for seconds! I wasn't sure how the sauerkraut would be since I've never had any before, but it tasted great. It wasn't too strong, but you definitely know it's in there - in a good way. And the fresh dill makes all the difference. I set out to make this recipe as is but ended up experimenting a little for extra fun. Boiled the potatoes in a separate pot for a few minutes while sauteing the onions and green beans with a dash of turmeric and garlic; when potatoes were starting to get tender, I drained them, sprinkled them with thyme and turmeric, and let them sit for a few minutes. Then added the onions, green beans, and some mushrooms to the pot with the potatoes and followed the rest of the directions on the recipe. Served with hot pumpernickel bread. Will definitely make this again. Thanks Idealnut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Excellent! I made the recipe as is. I added about a cup of diced cooked ham to it ONLY because I had it left over from the day before. If some of you think it's too sour, add a couple of teaspoons of sugar to it. My hubby adds vinegar to almost every kind of soup I make so this will be one of his favorites! Thanks Idealnut, you made his day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This is an awesome recipe, my wife loved it she's from central europe so it reminded her of Ma...made as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by food critic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States