Russian Green Bean and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I made this soup for my Russian husband and Father-in-law. Both agreed they had never seen this type of soup in Russia, but we all liked it anyway. The only thing i did differently was add 2 carrots, 2 more cups of broth, and left out the dill (my husband is not a fan). The next day i added crumbled bacon on top, per my husband's request, and it was even better! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
My family was skeptical of the sauerkraut, but based on the reviews, I decided to make it anyway. I am so glad I did! I made it exactly as written, (doubled) except for 1 tsp. dried dill rather than fresh. The flavor reminded me of a German potato salad, but a soup. Delicious! And- my whole family loved it too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Absolutely wonderful! We added celery, carrots and zucchini, threw it all in the crockpot and cooked on low for 8 hours. At hour 7, added the flour and sour cream. Next time, will add some Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Made this soup for dinner last night. It was a HUGE hit. Even my husband loved it and he is not a soup fan. To accommodate him, I added diced smoked sausage to the party when I added the potatoes and green beans. Also, for his benefit, I added about a 1/4 cup of heavy cream which made it more stew like. But the flavors are phenomenal and it still would have been delicious without those two additions. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Brighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
this is SUPER! it's so good and so easy! because i live in a house with men who apparently can't fill up a dinner without meat, i did as others suggested and used some smoked sausage. the sausage, the kraut, and the dill were just great together. the boys loved it and so did i. this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
DELICIOUS. Even my husband who is a VERY PICKY EATER loved it. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This was yummy and so good for us. We loved it just as it was. My husband is already asking for a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Me and my husband loved this soup! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out wonderfully, very tasty. The flavors in this soup are very typical of Eastern European soups and stews. This will become a new staple in our monthly menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmerar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I rate this among the best recipes I've made from the site. The only change I made was to add two tablespoons of butter. It was great with cornbread. We're going to try adding sausage -- maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breena Clarke
Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This was really good! I added sausage, carrot, and a red pepper. Very different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States