Russian Green Bean and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
What a delicious fall soup!!!!! I added smoked sausage so it was more like a stew. Used the whole 14oz can of saurkraut and 49.5oz can of chicken broth. Didn't want to waste. Also used white flour instead of wheat. Didn't want to buy a whole bag of Wheat flour for one recipe. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Made this exactly as written and it was delicious. I used chicken stock. I am going to add beef sausage in the leftover soup and try that too! I have never had this type of soup before I really enjoyed the flavors! Thank you for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I love this soup. I was kinda freaked out about adding the sauerkraut, not usually a fan, but it's what makes the soup IMO. I didn't have any fresh dill so I used approx. 1 tsp. of dried. Also, I had frozen organic green beans that I just broke into pieces and I thought it worked great. Served with buttermilk biscuits, which went perfectly cuz of the slight tang from the buttermilk. Will be making this soup ALL winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
i LOVED this recipe! i did add corn, smoked sausage, and garlic.. but it was fantastic. i cooked a huge batch of it for people who helped me move and there is none left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Sooooo good. I doubled the recipe from the start hoping it would be as good as I thought and it was. I added fresh green beans and fresh blackeyed peas. Very tasty! (I didn't have any dill so I added pickle juice)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
After a trip to the farmer's market left me with more new potatoes and green beans than I knew what to do with, this recipe was my saving grace. I had almost everything on hand but the sauerkrat and fresh dill and it all came together beautifully! I'm no culinary expert, but my roommates who tried this sure couldn't tell. They ate so many bowls I was really worried I wouldn't have leftovers (I was counting on this pot of soup lasting me through the week!). It hits the spot on a cold day, lemme tell ya! I added tons of black pepper to really give it some flavor (which was a bit lacking before the salt and pepper, perhaps because I used light sour cream and veggie stock). I plan to make this soup again this week. It's easy, keeps well, and costs hardly anything at all. Plus, how am I gonna get rid of all this fresh dill otherwise?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This soup is very good. Wonderful for a cold night with some warm bread. The only thing I did different was to add smoked sausage cut into rings. I left the peel on the red potato's. It was pretty and nutritious. I followed the recipe exactly, and it was wonderful. Well worth your trying....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANE1957

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlyle, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I made this soup for my Russian husband and Father-in-law. Both agreed they had never seen this type of soup in Russia, but we all liked it anyway. The only thing i did differently was add 2 carrots, 2 more cups of broth, and left out the dill (my husband is not a fan). The next day i added crumbled bacon on top, per my husband's request, and it was even better! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
My family was skeptical of the sauerkraut, but based on the reviews, I decided to make it anyway. I am so glad I did! I made it exactly as written, (doubled) except for 1 tsp. dried dill rather than fresh. The flavor reminded me of a German potato salad, but a soup. Delicious! And- my whole family loved it too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Absolutely wonderful! We added celery, carrots and zucchini, threw it all in the crockpot and cooked on low for 8 hours. At hour 7, added the flour and sour cream. Next time, will add some Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States