Russian Green Bean and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Wow! So yummy! My mom used to make a variation of this green bean soup (we have Slovak & Russian heritage). This version is very interesting and absolutely delicious! Modifications - added fresh mushrooms that i sauteed with the onions (because i had them on hand), and basically adjusted the ingredient quantities to fit my giant soup pot. I was very hesitant to add the dill because usually the only place I like it is in pickles :) I decided to add only about a teaspoon, and I'm really glad I did. I know a lot of reviewers liked the dill, but if i would have put the entire tablespoon it would have ruined the dish for me. If you are on the fence about the dill, i'd say skip it. It's really good with just a little or none at all. Next time I don't plan on adding it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRUISEM
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I REALLY wanted to love this soup because I LOVE all of the ingredients. I didn't ~ I can't actually say it is bad because we ate it for dinner but I can't say it was good either. I tried to think of it as if I was at at restaurant ... Would I order it again? Most likely not. Sorry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This was a great soup. Loved the dill flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Perfect - I did leave out the flour and used dried dill. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
OMG! It didn't sound very appetizing to my mom but I really wanted to try it. It was awesome! I made a huge pot and ate all of it in 2 days! Oh, I think it needs carrots and red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
To me, this is a strange combination of food. I loved it. The only thing I changed was: I added 1 carrot & used canned green beans rinsed & chopped up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This is so unusual and GOOD! I don't rewrite other folk's recipes on here, I follow them as written if I'm going to rate them. I did have to make an adjustment on this by using white instead of wheat flour because I wasn't going to buy a bag of wheat flour for just 2T to use in this recipe. (I don't like the texture of wheat). I can't imagine it making a big enough difference to matter. This is just so different and delicious on this chilly day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I was really looking forward to this soup but sort of dissapointed :( It took alot of work! Cutting the potatoes, onions, green beans, dill, carrots (I added). And all the steps to cook it all...and after all that, the flavor just didn't excite. It looks wonderful and is full of fresh veggies and herbs, so I ate it, but it was the few dashes of hot sauce that made it worth eating. It's a great idea for a soup but just not crazy with the flavor. Either it's missing something or my American taste buds just can't appreciate this foreign recipe. I wish I felt differently. My husband wouldn't eat it, he felt even more strongly against the flavor than I did. At least my mom liked it enough to take it off my hands because it was ALOT of effort and I didn't want it to go to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaffney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This was an excellent soup!! The only change I made was to add minced garlic in with the onions. I added only the recommended amount of sauerkraut, but when I tried it, I wished I had put in the whole can! It was awesome!! You could easily put in more veggies, meat, whatever, and make it your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States