Russian Green Bean and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Printed this recipe out last winter in anticipation of fresh green beans from the garden. Why did I wait so long??? Made last night (after picking 8 oz. of beans in 100 degree sun) and followed the directions to the T (very unusual for me). This needs absolutely no changes. Hubby and I both loved and will add to our regular rotaton with emphasis on these summer beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweets
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This was a great weeknight meal. I added any leftover veggies I had in the fridge! A carrot and a bit of celery. I didn't have saurkraut or dill, but it was great without it! Add the sour cream and flour seperatly! And add more water/broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Excellent soup. Proportions were perfect for may palate in any case. Tangy and very savory. Would go well with perhaps a poached fish lightly garnished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I would not make this again. I don't even have recommendations on improving it. Just make a different soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I made it exactly like the recipe and found this soup to be too tangy. I guess it was the sauerkraut. I will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I love to try new things so I thought why not give this recipe a try? It smelled delicious and looked delicious but I just was not a fan at all. I know for a fact when my husband gets home he is not going to be happy with it either. I have two boys who aren't picky eaters and they disliked it as well. I do want to thank you for sharing your recipe though. I'm glad so many others enjoyed it but def is something I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by italiangirl21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
My husband and I absolutely loved this soup - It's my new favourite soup!! I've made it twice so far, exactly as stated, and we both went back for seconds! I made sure to get fresh green beans and chop them up - Not sure how canned or frozen would taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I'll admit i was a little apprehensive about this recipe but it turned out very good! I halved the recipe but it still made a lot of soup! I will likely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valarie A

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
From my 3 teenagers - one gave it a 3, one a 4, and one a 5! The only modification I made was to add some cubed leftover ham. That with the sauerkraut made it too salty for the 15 year old palette. The 17 year old just wasn't impressed and wanted more "flavor." The 19 year old thought the soup was perfect and gave it the 5 stars! Mom thought it was a nice change of pace and rather enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This soup was really delicious! My husband and I both liked the unique taste. I used dried dill from our organic food coop and the taste was superb. I think next time I will try adding bacon or ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States