Russian Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Simple, bare bones basic and delicately flavored -exactly what I had in mind to complement, not compete with or overpower, the Lobster and Crab Burgers I needed an uncomplicated but good sauce for. Loved the addition of the chopped green pepper and I added some fresh green onion as well. Five stars, not because it's a culinary masterpiece but because it does what it's meant to do well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I have been making this for the last 30 years except I left out the onions. To make Thousand Island just add relish to this recipe. I used to make both dressings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
easy to make - tastes like Thousand Island - so much better than jar sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I've been combining mayo and ketchup as a dipping sauce for years...added garlic and or onion powder...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rindge, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cook and a half
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This was pretty good, it put me in the mind of "special sauce" from Mickee D's. It felt it was just missing something. I think I would prefer it if there was a little more zing to it. Over all pretty tasty I think it just needs a little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I wasn't sure how to serve this dipping sauce so I used this recipe to dip my "Traditional Russian Pirozhki." Served with cabbage soup, "Russian Garden Salad," "Instant Russian Tea," and "Russian Tea Cakes III."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This is a really simple sauce, but it has a lot of flavor. It reminds me of thousand island dressing. Omit the salt. Ketchup already has a ton of salt, so you won't miss the extra. Use about 1/4 cup minced fresh onions instead of the onion powder. If you don't feel like mincing, you can just throw everything into the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Very easy, very yummy! :) Try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Giselle

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Yummy, very easy to make. Tastes a lot like 1000 island dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
If you want a delicate flavored sauce not too overpowering for something, this is for you. The bell pepper adds a nice crunch and freshness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States