Russian Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Yummy, very easy to make. Tastes a lot like 1000 island dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I have been making this for the last 30 years except I left out the onions. To make Thousand Island just add relish to this recipe. I used to make both dressings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
easy to make - tastes like Thousand Island - so much better than jar sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Very easy, very yummy! :) Try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Giselle

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I've been combining mayo and ketchup as a dipping sauce for years...added garlic and or onion powder...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rindge, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I wasn't sure how to serve this dipping sauce so I used this recipe to dip my "Traditional Russian Pirozhki." Served with cabbage soup, "Russian Garden Salad," "Instant Russian Tea," and "Russian Tea Cakes III."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Simple, bare bones basic and delicately flavored -exactly what I had in mind to complement, not compete with or overpower, the Lobster and Crab Burgers I needed an uncomplicated but good sauce for. Loved the addition of the chopped green pepper and I added some fresh green onion as well. Five stars, not because it's a culinary masterpiece but because it does what it's meant to do well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This is a really simple sauce, but it has a lot of flavor. It reminds me of thousand island dressing. Omit the salt. Ketchup already has a ton of salt, so you won't miss the extra. Use about 1/4 cup minced fresh onions instead of the onion powder. If you don't feel like mincing, you can just throw everything into the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cook and a half
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This was pretty good, it put me in the mind of "special sauce" from Mickee D's. It felt it was just missing something. I think I would prefer it if there was a little more zing to it. Over all pretty tasty I think it just needs a little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
If you want a delicate flavored sauce not too overpowering for something, this is for you. The bell pepper adds a nice crunch and freshness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States