Russian Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I made this for my recipe club and served on slices of French bread + a roma tomato slice as recommended by another reviewer. I liked the flavor, but found the texture too crumbly. It wasn't easy to keep on the little bread slices, and seemed 'dry'. I'll try again with more mayonnaise, and try serving at room temperature instead of chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Made this exactly as posted. Everyone loved it! Served it on sour dough baguette slices. We have a Russian exchange student staying with us and she said that her mom makes it the same way, but sometimes adds pieces of chicken and serves on crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Quite authentic, though, as mentioned above, it is usually made with sharper & harder cheeses. Sometimes a little shredded carrot is added (about 1/3 cup). Makes it more colorful and adds a nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I agree with the other viewer to add garlic powder because the intensity of the minced uncooked garlic was a bit much. Everyone thought it was great and couldn't believe it was made with so few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I made this the night before serving and it gave time for the flavors to blend. It was a really flavorful and wonderful part of our dinner, served on rye bread with other assorted meats and cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I have lived in Russia for almost 13 yrs now- and this is one of my favorites! One change is needed - Gouda cheese! This is perfect as spread on bread - with soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D'Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
mom used to make this all the time. i love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Thanks for the recipe. This is excellent and easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This is a great salad, and I thought that the amount of garlic listed was just right. Thank you for posting. Making this dish brought a lot of fond memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by venetian_lunacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Son's assignment called for an international dish. This was simple to prepare and we all loved it! We ate ours on crackers and next time I will use bruchetta. I used 2 C mozarella and 1 C gouda. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States