Russian Cabbage Borscht Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Don't let anyone sway you from trying this recipe. My mother was born and raised in Russia, I have friends here in the U.S. who are immigrants from the Ukraine and every one of them makes their borscht a little differently. If you are on a quest for "authentic" borscht like it is the holy grail, good luck - there are many interpretations. I tried this one because I am not pigeonholed into one type. An open mind will yield many good things. This was an EXCELLENT dish. Very clean, very delicious. It has that ethnic taste you are looking for when you want borscht. Who cares what it's called? I loved it and will make it again and again. Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Don't even bother. This is NOT borscht. I lived in Ukraine and Russia, and married a native Ukrainian. If you're looking for authentic Russian borscht, keep looking and pass this one by.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This is the MOST AWESOME and the most delicious Borcht that I have ever tasted, such a brilliant recipe. The cider vinegar and the little bit of honey, really does give it something special! Well done, it tastes just like my grandma and grandpa would make!! Well done and thanks! Cheers, Kate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Well, either the little old lady from Turkey bought the "Moosewood Cookbook" by Mollie Katzen, or Mollie borrowed the recipe from the little old lady. In any event, this is the Russian Cabbage Borscht recipe from the "Moosewood Cookbook" (with some minor variations) and, I agree, it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I'd never made Borscht before, but my Russian fiance was begging me to give it a try. So, I made this recipe and he LOVED it. I did add some beef and change the veggie broth/water to beef broth. I also put in red wine instead of cider vinegar. Lastly, I used chopped steamed tomatoes instead of pureed tomatoes because I like the texture better. And I probably put in way more dill than it called for. It was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
I made this and loved it. It was my first time making borscht also but I've eaten plenty and this rates with the best. The dill and caraway really make the flavour - I left out the honey and didn't miss it. There's probably a different borscht recipe for every town in eastern Europe. Who cares? It's the taste that matters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
For those of you who have trouble with your beets still being hard, try grating the beets for the soup rather than dicing them, that's how my Baba did it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
This is a really yummy soup. Hearty, flavorful- who cares if it's not "authentic"? I've traveled in Russia and several republics and it had just the taste I remember, except a little thicker (I did add some more liquid to this one) and sweeter. I didn't have caraway seeds, so that might have given it a nice pungent offset to the sweet. I would probably just put in a teaspoon of honey or no honey if you've got nice, fresh beets and cabbage. I used Hungarian paprika to season it and that was very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Easy and delicious. I didn't have any tomato puree so I left it out. The only thing I would do differently is dice the beets, potatos, carrots, and celery so that the pieces are all close to the same size, rather than thinly slicing some and chopping others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Guys, I am Russian and I would say this recipe is ..eeeh..kind of ..just sounds like a Borscht, but...you know...I will try to add the original recipe in my recipe list in the next few days. Guys, I wanna tell you what! Make sure your borscht is red if its a red version, has enough garlic, herbs and lots of meat (if its not a vegetarian version). Make it out of pork short ribs previously baked up in an oven for 10-15 minutes! Add some mustard if you want to make the version of "borscht from the yesterday", this one is more tasty. Add some kidney beans (some people in Ukraine do this, I know), I don't like though=)) Nice combination of salt, pepper, vinegar, some sugar makes this dish incomparable. Lots of herbs-parsley, dill. You can add some cilantro if you like. I do all the time. Add garlic when the soup is done! There are million of variations of making this dish. What I do, I saute onions, celery, carrots, bell peppers( I love them to add), beet roots then, I add vinegar and set this mixture aside. Then, I make a stock and damp the mixture right in my meat stock. Don't be afraid in adding some crashed red chilies and some beef base as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexander Russian Magic Cook

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States