Russian Cabbage Borscht Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
This is pretty good and very easy to make. It is a little too sweet for my tastes. I think maybe because of the honey and sweet veggies. It needs a little kick. Overall - not bad for my 1st attempt at making borscht.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
this was a fabulous soup.... my first time making borscht and i LOVED it.... i couldn't find any tomato puree though... so i substituted 2 cups of ready to serve tomato soup.... it was an excellent decision... my guests loved it too....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Don't even bother. This is NOT borscht. I lived in Ukraine and Russia, and married a native Ukrainian. If you're looking for authentic Russian borscht, keep looking and pass this one by.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
This is a really yummy soup. Hearty, flavorful- who cares if it's not "authentic"? I've traveled in Russia and several republics and it had just the taste I remember, except a little thicker (I did add some more liquid to this one) and sweeter. I didn't have caraway seeds, so that might have given it a nice pungent offset to the sweet. I would probably just put in a teaspoon of honey or no honey if you've got nice, fresh beets and cabbage. I used Hungarian paprika to season it and that was very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
Tried it and enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
I made this and loved it. It was my first time making borscht also but I've eaten plenty and this rates with the best. The dill and caraway really make the flavour - I left out the honey and didn't miss it. There's probably a different borscht recipe for every town in eastern Europe. Who cares? It's the taste that matters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This is the MOST AWESOME and the most delicious Borcht that I have ever tasted, such a brilliant recipe. The cider vinegar and the little bit of honey, really does give it something special! Well done, it tastes just like my grandma and grandpa would make!! Well done and thanks! Cheers, Kate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
great! but i changed it a little. I added homemade beef bone broth. I eliminated the honey and tomato and replaced it with 1 can of brown beans in tomato sauce for a little more depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SushiKite

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Quadra Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Loved this borscht! Used all organic produce from our CSA farm share. This was a great way to use our potatoes, beets, carrots and cabbage. I didn't have caraway so I substituted hungarian paprika. And I used 4 cups turkey stock for the initial cooking of the beets and potatoes. I left out the honey since my beets were already sweet, but I did add the vinegar because I like tang with my beets. Topped with sour cream...very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Fantastic! Give this one a try. We are part of a CSA and are getting lots of beets and cabbage. Now I know how to use them. Thanks so much for posting this. My husband even gave it an 8 out of 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States