Russian Cabbage Borscht Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Delicious! Before adding the stock, I sauted beef cubes that I marinated in white wine, salt and worchestershire sauce, with diced onions. I also served over white rice to make the meal a little heartier- and similar to cabbage rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This was very good, but next time I'll leave out the cabbage or greatly reduce it, and finely dice all of the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This is very similiar to the recipe my german-russian grandma would serve every Sunday. I cut the butter back a little bit and left out the celery. I also replaced the sour cream with heavy whipping cream (which was added while still cooking). My grandmother also used the beet leaves and added barley to hers. I aslo added whole allspice and bay leaves as she did. Over the years I had forgotten the proportions of the recipe(it started tasting a little sour) and this got me back on track. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
My 10 year old daughter is a soup lover so she wanted to try this. Husband really liked it and kept going on and on. 10 yr. old ate the entire bowl!! (small victory for Mommy) I really think the caraway seeds and dill are essential to this meal. Very hearty...will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This recipe is awesome! My whole family gobbled it up. I used more beets and even some greens. Put in some beef gravy I'd made from pan-seering some steaks instead of broth. Used 1/4 c. tomato paste. Otherwise, followed the recipe. I'll make this again! DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKING66

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Awesome...I had borscht in St. Petersburg back in 2000 and I suddenly was craving it again. This recipe hits the spot perfectly. One thing: I had to use more stock than the recipe called for. And I'd say it serves 4 rather than 8 if its the main dish... So good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This is a great recipe. To "kick it up a notch," substitute a small can of tomato paste for the tomato puree. And if I have some, I toss in dried mushrooms. (Completely untraditional, but totally yummy.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Yum! It has all the flavors that I like in my mom's cabbage rolls, but no meat. Great tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauryl
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
Delicious. Only 25 reviews? I wish more people here would try it because it deserves a chance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I tried this recipe after eating borscht in a restaurant. I did not add potatoes or chopped tomatoes. I cooked the vegetables (carrots, onions, and celery) in large chunks with beef stew meat, in the crockpot, then removed the vegetables from the beef broth and added more beef bouillon for increased flavor. I added the shredded cabbage and beets and other seasonings as listed. This soup is unbelievably delicious. My husband doesn't like beets, but he loved this soup. A MUST TRY IT RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scotland, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Mission Hill, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States