Russian Cabbage Borscht Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Easy and delicious. I didn't have any tomato puree so I left it out. The only thing I would do differently is dice the beets, potatos, carrots, and celery so that the pieces are all close to the same size, rather than thinly slicing some and chopping others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This is my first time making a Russian borscht. I've been feeling under the weather with strep, and am a major soup-lover. I decided to make this borscht for me and my two male carnivorous roommate's. They're not usually the easiest to please, but they both loved this as much as I did. :) The only changes I made in keeping with the red theme are red potatoes and purple onions. I also added a bit more dill. I recommend this recipe to anyone! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This is probably my 3 grandsons favourite soup recipe - and these are children who seldom want to eat what is good for them. I make the recipe as stated but for the tomato puree (because I was not sure what was meant) I puree a jar of my canned tomatoes. I double or triple the recipe & feed the crowds! Pampered Chef has a "simple slicer" which slices the potatoes, beets & onions easily & evenly. Thank you for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
It was good, kind of difficult to make, lots of steps and careful slicing. We never had borscht before but like so many others got lots of stuff from our CSA that we are trying to be creative with. I was expecting the beets to make this a different flavor than I expected but it's very good. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Rogers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I'd never made Borscht before, but my Russian fiance was begging me to give it a try. So, I made this recipe and he LOVED it. I did add some beef and change the veggie broth/water to beef broth. I also put in red wine instead of cider vinegar. Lastly, I used chopped steamed tomatoes instead of pureed tomatoes because I like the texture better. And I probably put in way more dill than it called for. It was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
For those of you who have trouble with your beets still being hard, try grating the beets for the soup rather than dicing them, that's how my Baba did it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
While I can't comment on the authenticity of this "borscht", as a soup, this one is great. I'm eating in the next day and it tastes even better. I think I added too much beets/cabbage/potatoes, as I just eyeballed it and threw it in. As a result I added more broth, but got a lot more soup (which is fine with me). Also, I didn't listen to the recipe by slicing my beets really thin. I just diced them up and added them. It may have been my beets, but they were still hard after 45 mins. That was my fault though, as the taste of this soup is amazing. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Very tasty. Made just enough for two, so if you're serving more or want leftovers, I'd double it. My husband, who responds to every vegetarian dish with a shrug, devoured this and asked for me to cook it regularly. I served it with lowfat sour cream and used the caraway seeds, which in my opinion greatly added to the flavor. Next time I'll make black bread to go with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Good. I liked it better the day after and so did my daughter. However, my husband did not care for the caraway taste (said it was too strong)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Colebrook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I needed to use up some red cabbage and thought this looked really different. I'm a vegetarian too. Well, it is different, but really flavorful! Tangy and sweet. Not something I'd eat every night but a really fun change from the ordinary. One change - I used canned beets and omitted the boiling step for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mashpee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States