Russian Cabbage Borscht Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This is a very good Borscht recipe! (And very easy to make.) It tastes just like my mother-in-laws, who lives in Russia. I wouldn't change anything with the recipe, it is good with the caraway seeds added... and lots of sour cream :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This was a first time for me. I liked this recipe. A little chicken in it would make it a meat lovers casserole or soup. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbluett1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
The soup seemed a little bland, so I added some chili pepper to it to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I haven't made borscht before but enjoyed this recipe. I had chard and so added that instead of the celery. We liked the vinegar/honey combo but would not like it any sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I have made many recipes of borscht and this is the absolute BEST! My family loved it also. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
My beet- and cabbage-hating husband liked this quite well! It was a welcome change from our standard fare, and I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I loved it. It was so delicious and so reach in taste. Very good recipe, definitely will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bitola, Pelagonia, Macedonia
Living In: Gary, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I followed this recipe as written with the exceptions: my red cabbage was too small, but after reading one of the other reviewers that mentioned his grandmother used the beet greens too, I chopped and included them. After that I needed a bit more liquid so added 2 more cups of broth, increased the dill weed, cider vinegar & honey by half and used a 10.75 oz can of tomato puree. After reading quite a bit about borscht I get the idea that it's a lot like beef stew is here in the US. There are similar ingredients but probably a different recipe for every cook depending what they have available to use at the time – we loved the addition of the beet greens too. This was my first attempt at making it (and eating it) so I can't say if it's authentic, but I can say we thought it was a winner. Thanks Puma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Well, either the little old lady from Turkey bought the "Moosewood Cookbook" by Mollie Katzen, or Mollie borrowed the recipe from the little old lady. In any event, this is the Russian Cabbage Borscht recipe from the "Moosewood Cookbook" (with some minor variations) and, I agree, it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I didn't follow amounts exactly, as I hardly ever do... so I might've added more tomato than needed, but everyone still raved about it! I've never had borscht before, so I can't compare it. But nonetheless, it tasted great! I added some sausage in it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States