Russian Cabbage Borscht Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Delicious. Definitely hold the caraway if it's not a flavor you're a big fan of, it's pretty strong in this. One thing I'll change next time is adding more liquid, I prefer that it have more broth. At least another cup or two of veggie broth and a half a cup more of tomato puree would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Was really good! I'm just not sure why mine turned out so much darker looking then the other dishes?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I have the Moosewood Cookbook, from which this recipe comes, and have made this soup to rave reviews. Whether or not it is an authentic Russian borscht, it is still absolutely delicious! Everyone loves it. My grandfather, who always refused to eat vegetables in any way, shape or form, enthusiastically gobbled his down right to the last drop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieWeasel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I have never made borscht before but it's a soup that I absolutely love. Just finished making this recipe as is and it is FANTASTIC. I think I will eat this all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Nutritious and delicious. I made up a triple batch and it won't last long! Who cares if it's "authentic" borscht; as others have stated there are many variations, and this one is tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CalgaryJosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I've never tried making Borscht before and I loved how this turned out! I made extra to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Yum! This is excellent. I used purple cabbage and it was beautiful and tasty. I also used the input of other reviewers to mash the potatoes with a fork near the end of the simmering time. Also, I used beef broth and omitted the beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Excellent recipe - flavor is robust and complex. Only suggestion is to increase the liquid portion - by the end of the cooking process, and especially after adding the tomato paste, the soup is very, very thick. Would suggest adding another 4 cups of liquid. I also added fennel to the stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Excellent soup, freezes very well. We shredded some beef roast in at the beginning to add some protein to this dish, love it very healthy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Maybe I misread the recipe but it doesn't say that you need a big pot to cook everything in. You don't make borscht in a skillet. Plus, you need more stock or water in that pot. Typically, I shred onions, carrots, and beets, and cook it in skillet for 10 min or so, and then add it to the big pot. I found that beets never really cooked and potatoes overcooked in the saucepan. Also, at the end of it all, I had to add a lot more spices, like pepper, also added lemon juice, more paprika, and pressed garlic. Not a true Russian borscht, more like a beet soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States