Russian Cabbage Borscht Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Learned a borscht trick at a Russian restaurant in Castlegar, BC. Sauté the onions, add chopped potatoes and beets; simmer till tender. Purée! Now return to pot and add rest of ingredients. Delicious thicker, hearty borscht.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This Summer we were in St. Petersburg Russia to attend a Wedding so I was anxious to try making my own Borscht. This is very good but what we had there was more earthy.I believe they must have used beef broth also and shredded the beets.Which I may try next time. Our household liked this very much as written and will add to our soup Sunday list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This soup was easy to put together once you got everything chopped up. I used beef broth instead of vegetable (and had to put in an extra too cups because there wasn't enough liquid). My only complaint was that it was a bit too salty for my taste ... I would definitely omit the salt and just add it to taste at the end. Or maybe replace some of the broth with water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Excellent recipe! Thank you for sharing it :) I thought it was perfect when I followed the recipe. Nice to see older recipes being shared and not lost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
really delicious! i was surprised how flavourful this was without any meat flavouring at all. yum! definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Took way longer to prep than stated. Tasted very much like a sour ketchup chili. Would not make this again and think they're better recipes elsewhere
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I made some changes for convenience and it turned out delicious! My first time making my favourite soup and this is a keeper! I added more beet (1 beet gave me 1 cup slices, so I used 2)I also added an extra stalk of celery and an extra carrot just for more veggies. Instead of red cabbage I used a bag of coleslaw mix (green cabbage with carrots)Didn't have cider vinegar so I did without it altogether. Also didn't have caraway seeds so I used cumin, though I only used 3/4 of a tsp because I was a bit nervous it would overpower, but it was fine! Had a package of fresh dill and added pretty much the whole thing. For the broth I used Organic PC vegetable stock. VERY YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
So incredibly beautiful. Thank you so much! I really love and appreciate this recipe. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This is traditional peasant food so it's going to have dozens of variations. And spellings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This soup is amazing! Better than I'd ever expected. I made it exactly as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States