Russian Cabbage Borscht Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I tried this recipe after eating borscht in a restaurant. I did not add potatoes or chopped tomatoes. I cooked the vegetables (carrots, onions, and celery) in large chunks with beef stew meat, in the crockpot, then removed the vegetables from the beef broth and added more beef bouillon for increased flavor. I added the shredded cabbage and beets and other seasonings as listed. This soup is unbelievably delicious. My husband doesn't like beets, but he loved this soup. A MUST TRY IT RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scotland, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Mission Hill, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
This was so yummy. I chopped the potato, beets & cabbage to a chunky dice, used chicken broth and diced a tomato and added 8 oz. of tomato sauce rather than puree. It barely survived long enough to become leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLYSMAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
This was awesome! What a taste of home. My Russian grandmother used to make this and it had been so long since I had it, I'd forgotten how good it was. Thank you so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Magpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Living In: Callaway, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2007
For the first time, I made an "all Russian" dinner in honor of my son who we adopted from Russia 7 yrs ago. This borscht was definitely the best dish - it got rave reviews from everyone! I wouldn't change a thing, and I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Amazing! The onions sauted in butter with caraway seeds form a rich base to this soup. I had excellent farmers market beets and didn't bother to put in the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Mmmm! This was so hearty and delicious. I'd never had or made borscht before, so I followed the recipe exactly--except I realized at the last minute that I didn't have caraway, so I used fennel seed, cumin seed (according to Cook's Thesaurus--who knew?), and extra dill, and it turned out great. Also, I used fresh tomato puree, so that might have altered the flavor a bit from canned. This took some time to put together the first time, but it's really simple prep and comes together very easily. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This is a great recipe - I've made it twice and plan to make it many more times in the future; it is delicious with black or pumpernickel bread. The second time I made it I chopped the vegetables quite finely - I find it makes the soup more visually appealing. Overall, a delicious healthy winter soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
My family loved this soup. I invited our neighbours to try it, they love it as well. I added a love of garlic, but other wise made the exact recipe. I want to thank Puma who posted the recipe. I will make this time and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Fantastic! Give this one a try. We are part of a CSA and are getting lots of beets and cabbage. Now I know how to use them. Thanks so much for posting this. My husband even gave it an 8 out of 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Loved this borscht! Used all organic produce from our CSA farm share. This was a great way to use our potatoes, beets, carrots and cabbage. I didn't have caraway so I substituted hungarian paprika. And I used 4 cups turkey stock for the initial cooking of the beets and potatoes. I left out the honey since my beets were already sweet, but I did add the vinegar because I like tang with my beets. Topped with sour cream...very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States