Russian Cabbage Borscht Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Good recipe. Hearty and adaptable. The caraway and cider vinegar are nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nilifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This was absolutely delicious soup. I added tomato sauce instead of puree and it was fine. I doubled the recipe and it went very fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin Elizabeth Pielak
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Soooo good! I had never made or even tried this soup before! Scrumptious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa Nagele-Piazza
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This turned out perfect! I followed the instructions without modification. It's a great combination of flavors that contributed to a pleasant, hearty soup. I also like that this recipe didn't call for heavy cream since the sour cream is enough. We will definitely make this version of borscht again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Nagele-Piazza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
A Russian friend has introduced me to her cooking and now I have a new foodie passion. This recipe is the first Russian/Ukraine food I've ever attempted, so I did not dare change a thing. And it was fabulous. I recently ate at a reputable Russian/Ukrainian restaurant in Chicago with this same Russian friend, and this borscht was far better than that which I paid $9/bowl for. I will likely add another 1-2 cups of stock to help it go a little further. And definitely serve it with a dollop of sour cream. (And thank you to the reviewer whom suggested using Trader Joe's precooked beets.I will try that next time.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Best dish ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
it's a perfectly fine recipe. i made it vegan (except for the honey) and it was tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Paul

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Just made this. This is delicious! Just like the one from Veselka in the East Village of NYC, where the Little Ukraine is located.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy Chan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This is pretty much like the borscht I usually make except I use beef stock and diced canned tomatoes. Mine did not have the apple cider vinegar or honey which I tried this time. Imo this is a delicious borscht.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Been living in Russia for 10 years, and this was one of the best I've tried. There are several types of borsch - sweet or sour, tomato-ey or beet-ey. This is a beet-ey, sweet one which is just the type that I love. Tasted very authentic. I put in two medium sized beets (more than the recipe called for), and about 1.25L of broth (also more). I also added 350g of cubed beef. Simmered for about 4 hours. I would say it could about 4 people. No need to debate the merits of certain ingredients and whether they should or shouldn't be in a "real" borsch recipe. The end result is that this tastes exactly as borsch should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States