Russian Cabbage Borscht Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This is pretty much like the borscht I usually make except I use beef stock and diced canned tomatoes. Mine did not have the apple cider vinegar or honey which I tried this time. Imo this is a delicious borscht.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Been living in Russia for 10 years, and this was one of the best I've tried. There are several types of borsch - sweet or sour, tomato-ey or beet-ey. This is a beet-ey, sweet one which is just the type that I love. Tasted very authentic. I put in two medium sized beets (more than the recipe called for), and about 1.25L of broth (also more). I also added 350g of cubed beef. Simmered for about 4 hours. I would say it could about 4 people. No need to debate the merits of certain ingredients and whether they should or shouldn't be in a "real" borsch recipe. The end result is that this tastes exactly as borsch should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Makes enough to feed an army.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Really delicious recipe! Full of umami, sweet and a little sour. I end up adding more vinegar than the recipe calls for to achieve a pucker that offsets all the other flavors perfectly. I do end up using about three times as much beets as potato because that's the star for me. I've served it without sour cream and loved it just as much. My husband talks unconsciously about how delicious it is while spooning more in his mouth, which tells me he really loves it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
really awesome, loved it. we will definitely make it again. my only complaint is there wasn't enough of it haha. i would double it next time as one batch was about 4 servings for us. i used one yellow potato, one medium beet, one medium onion, probably 3 tbsp butter, crushed tomatoes (instead of tomato puree), omitted the salt, and used 1/8 tsp dried dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I'm glad I gave this a try - It was delicious! I served it with Greek yogurt and sour cream. I never used dill in Borscht before, and am pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I read over this recipe and it's ok.  I just posted a recipe for borscht on my website (www.revivingtraditions.com/russian-borscht) and it’s amazing how different borscht recipes can be. I think EVERYBODY’s borcht recipe is different. In fact, my borscht from week to week might even taste different! Borscht just has that reputation. Cheers from a true Russian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
My husband I loved this soup. I left-out the tomatoes and tomato puree cause I dislike tomato in my Borscht and added more fresh dill and less salt and it was just perfect to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Being Russian myself I have the courage to say this is a great borscht recipe with Russian flavor. Believe me. Remember the main thing: there is not the one authentic borcsht recipe, every single family make this dish on its own way. There are thousand variations and interpretations of this dish. We have the main ingredients - beets, cabbage (not exactly red, you can easily use a regular white cabbage), potatoes, carrots and onions. And then use your imagination. Some people make meet borscht using pork or beef, some add mushrooms, I`ve heard of even adding prunes. As to this recipe I would change the proportions a little just for my taste. I would use 1 1/2 cup beets, only one large onion and less tomato puree (tomatoes are optional but make the borscht tastier). Don`t substitute cumin for caraway seeds. Cumin has an oriental flavor that can ruin Russian flavor in borscht. If you don`t have caraway seeds just omit them, they are optional. And definitely serve the borscht with sour cream, very traditional. The borscht consistency ends on your personal preference, if you prefer thick, add less water or more vegetables, if you prefer watery, add more water. So if you want to try Russian borscht, this is a great recipe to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I have made this quite a few times now and absolutely love it. I do tend to add more veggies than it calls for (2 carrots, extra beets, more cabbage) and throw in another 2 cups of stock. I wish I had a HUGE skillet to make an even bigger batch. To me, the caraway seeds are NOT optional. I have no knowledge of authentic borscht, but this tastes wonderful. It's a mainstay at our house, especially in the winter! We sometimes add pork to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States